We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, nice budget hotel located in San Francisco”
Review of Van Ness Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van Ness Inn Hotel
Ranked #182 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, nice budget hotel located in San Francisco”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was looking for a place to stay in San Francisco and i came across the Americas Best Inn San Francisco. The price was reasonable for a San Francisco Hotel. The location is great, close to fishermans wharf, a short bus ride to downtown and all the scenic stops. The rooms were clean and I felt safe there. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    50
    50
    30
    72
See reviews for
41
87
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
375 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This place is totally overpriced... And they say by Fishermans wharf - not even close! The Comfort inn across the street is the same price I should have stayed there.. The breakfast is a joke - coffee dispenser and a croissant .. Room amenities include a tiny bar if soap and a tiny tear- package of toothpaste .. Parking lot is filled with old mattresses, you have to park tandem and you have to leave your car key at the desk ... One decent thing I can say is the room is clean .. This would be a decent value for less then half the price
Stay somewhere else -PLEASE
I rated this a 1 because you can't leave unrated but it deserves a 0

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JJFlash7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Richmond. Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The room was average but clean. The breakfast was a joke. Stale croissant and cold coffee only. No choice at all.The location was OK for fisherman's wharf and bus routes and we felt quite safe walking around after dark, but the hotel itself was pretty grim. I would only stay there again if I was very desperate. I would prefer to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanaRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

From the pictures that I saw on the web, this looked like a great place to stay and even though it was not all bad, the hotel is in desperate need of an update (and they already have plans to do so). One extremely negative is that the hotel does not have "at-least" one parking space for each guest room (First come, first serve), so once the spaces are taken you need to park at a public parking area and pay. The location was really good, close to nice restaurants and other amenities. If you enjoy walking then Fisherman's Wharf is not to far away. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast that is not even worth trying, I preferred an I-hop that's right across the hotel. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: There are non. Would not recommend this place for couples are a family. If you are solo traveler a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raulito42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We booked this truly appalling motel at the last minute, on the last day of our trip to California. That was a lesson well learnt, I will NEVER leave booking anywhere to the last minute again. The parking was not ideal, but to be fair, I can understand that they only had a certain amount of space and to accommodate all the vehicles, some had to park behind others. However, there is no excuse for the rest of the problems that we encountered. First of all the room is quite dark, with some of the drapes falling down, the beds were terrible, I could feel every spring, the vanity unit is located in the bedroom, not the bathroom and has a censor light, that goes off, even when everyone is in bed. That came on 5 times during the night and woke everyone. Actually, I should not say everyone, as one of our party of 4 got no sleep at all. The bathroom had an odious smell of urine. After we had booked in, we went down to the receptionist and complained. She said it could not be urine, but couldn't actually tell me what it was. The soap dish on the side of the bath, was caked in grime. The breakfast, if you call a stale doughnut, coffee in a thermos flask (tepid) all served in the reception area, which was about 8 feet square, with people checking out and nowhere to sit, a breakfast, was poor.. There was a terrible smell of urine in the stairwells too. On the day that we checked out, we went to reception to complain, we were annoyed, but very civil, however the receptionist was surly and decidedly uncivil. We got no apology and no offer of a discount. I am not sure if this establishment is part of a chain, but if it is, this young woman is no ambassador for it. The cost of this was $357. Even though this dump is only a couple of blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, the location does not make up for the state of it and should be avoided at all cost.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnihandbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was by far our worst hotel we stayed in during our vacation in California! After reading others reviews, and seeing they experienced bed bugs, I now know where all the bumps on my son came from! The parking was terrible! You had to leave your keys at the desk if you parked in front of somebody, since you had to double park. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody! Not even my worst enemy! The rooms were gross!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Unbelievably rude staff (Michael) I was yelled at and told if I did not like the hotel or have any problems we do not care and you can leave! terrible overall experience, and BTW Don't use Booking.com either they will be of no help and clearly don't car what hotels they partner with.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMVPORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#152 of 228 in San Francisco
458 reviews
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#181 of 228 in San Francisco
485 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#144 of 228 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#120 of 228 in San Francisco
748 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Ness Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Ness Inn Hotel

Property: Van Ness Inn Hotel
Address: 2850 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-1426 (Formerly America's Best Inn San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Ness Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Inn Fisherman's Wharf The Best Inn at Van Ness is conveniently located five blocks away from the Cannery and Ghirardelli Square from where you can stroll and take in the sites that line the row from Fisherman's Wharf to Pier 39. You will enjoy San Francisco more from our reasonably priced, attractive accommodations in one the most convenient location in town! We pride ourselves with providing first class service and attention to our guests needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Van Ness Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Best Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing