We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just dont stay here!!!!!”
Review of Van Ness Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van Ness Inn Hotel
Ranked #190 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Dont bother even thinking about staying here!!!! terrible and dirty. Office staff need box of happy pills. less than helpful.
cig butts everywhere. not cleaned up.
Repairs to property -------- none.
smells bad in room.
bad experience, would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelnut8598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

America's Best Inn is located on the corner of Van Ness and Chesnut which is only about 5 blocks, or a 5 minute walk from Guirardelli Square. In the room you will find a microwave and refrigerator if you want to buy your own snacks. There is no restaurant or breakfast, but due to its great location I was able to stay here and walk to Fisherman's Wharf. Even pier 33 (alcatraz cruises) wasn't a stretch to walk to. The best value about this motel is free parking! I stayed 3 nights and with San Fran's great public transportation and my proximity to the wharf, I didn't move my car the whole time. You're just a short trolly ride on the Powell-Hyde over the hill from Union Square. Van Ness is a little noisy at night because it is a motel, but it was not anything that I lost sleep over, the street isn't too busy in front of the motel. Overall it was a great value and free parking really made it for me.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Berger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Evidently they clean with full strength bleach and ammonia and never rinse them and that creates a toxic smell....but they must be trying to get rid of bugs and mold that still remained however. Attempted to sleep with window open (dangerous to do so!) and still could not..the smell was horrendous and strong. When the toilet overflowed and we called the front desk, we were told there was nothing they could do about it. Further phone calls were not answered and in going to the office, it was locked. Upon arriving at the hotel, we only put luggage in and left for events in the area. Noticed the smell but surely thought it would dissipate.Actually thought the room would be okay considering the high price - sure learned regarding that! If your car is blocked in because of their parking arrangement, and there is no one in the office 24/7, you would have to knock on every door to find the car needing to be moved! They care not at all about the customer. After getting out of this hellhole, we booked at Wyndham with concierge service for less money. Do Not Stay Here.

Room Tip: Do Not Choose Any Room Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Absolutely terrible. Do not stay here. They charged more than the allowable posted rate per CA Civil Code Section 1863 (info on room door). When presented with this, two employees refused to refund difference. Now following up with state. Anyone that has stayed here should look at their charges as I am sure this is a common practice. Room was far below an acceptable level. There were numerous issues with the room including things like an unsecure door that would barely latch (the safety latch was also previously broken off and appeared it was kicked in/broken into), key cards would not work consistently, the towel bar was held up by a mass of silicone, mold and staining was present in the bathroom and bathtub, the ice machine wasn’t working, light bulbs were missing from our room, etc. We were on a family vacation not expecting a high quality hotel, but this was absolutely awful. Again, do not consider staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarsideCg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

What can i say, we travelled around America for a month and this was by far the worst and most expensive grot hole we stayed in!! the only good thing about it was the location!! we checked in the lady on reception may as well have not been there she was so abrupt and rude like we were bothering her, got to our room it was tiny bearly enough room for the bed! old and dated bathroom was small and smelly!! Bedbug, bedbugs, bedbugs eeehhhhgggg makes me scratch thinking about it!! Breckfast was offered with this room, why bother it was a coissants very dry one at that!! the only good thing was it was walking distants to the Whalf that is is!!

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manchesternicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

good motel, near fishermans wharf (5 mins with bus) with good price, clean rooms, regular bathrooms and so on. we didn't find the breakfast there. but all over all we were satisfied, because we didn't expect too much from this price.

it's a good an pricy motel to visit SF and eat out and so on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dynamite D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Friendly but strictly third-world.
Bed bugs were quite prolific in this place.
She recommended Ashoka for Indian food, which was excellent (unfortunately the owner's teenage son was in charge of the audio-portion).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
614 reviews
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#172 of 230 in San Francisco
504 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#177 of 230 in San Francisco
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
848 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#149 of 230 in San Francisco
560 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#144 of 230 in San Francisco
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Ness Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Ness Inn Hotel

Address: 2850 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-1426 (Formerly America's Best Inn San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $88 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Ness Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Inn Fisherman's Wharf The Best Inn at Van Ness is conveniently located five blocks away from the Cannery and Ghirardelli Square from where you can stroll and take in the sites that line the row from Fisherman's Wharf to Pier 39. You will enjoy San Francisco more from our reasonably priced, attractive accommodations in one the most convenient location in town! We pride ourselves with providing first class service and attention to our guests needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Van Ness Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Best Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing