We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Ness Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van Ness Inn Hotel
Ranked #199 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

good motel, near fishermans wharf (5 mins with bus) with good price, clean rooms, regular bathrooms and so on. we didn't find the breakfast there. but all over all we were satisfied, because we didn't expect too much from this price.

it's a good an pricy motel to visit SF and eat out and so on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynamite D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    32
    38
    29
    70
See reviews for
34
73
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Friendly but strictly third-world.
Bed bugs were quite prolific in this place.
She recommended Ashoka for Indian food, which was excellent (unfortunately the owner's teenage son was in charge of the audio-portion).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

oc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

BEDBUGS, took pictures and had them confirmed by pest control. Sensor lights, making it impossible to get up during night without waking up anyone in the room and would also turn off mid-shower. "Breakfast" was coffee and a croissant (NO tea, hot chocolate, muffins, etc.) Horrible Wifi during day and literally no connection 2/3 evenings. Noisy construction all day and night. Barking dog in room next door. No washcloths unless ordered. *found three BEDBUGS, notified front office after catching one under cup but they had no interest, manager had us wait for him to come on site to talk to us but flaked after we waited 30+ min and via telephone offered us $20 compensation total on $600+ bill. Worst hotel experience ever. PS bedbugs get on clothes and in suitcases and eggs can survive 300+ days and require fumigation when spread to home and mattress replacement, absolute nightmare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Mountain Club, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Decent rooms and very close to shore and wharf especially by bus, U dont have to pay for parking, just took family on bus next to hotel. Dont stay here if u r expecting to hang out in ur room and examine the aesthetics and have a free breakfast that will fill u up. Paid $89 and stayed 2 nites.Service was ok. Parking onsite is free, but takes creativity.We just needed clean, close cheap sleeping accomodations with bath facilities. Would stay againfor this price for familyof five.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Redwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

PRO'S:
-locations (very close to lombard street, a few bus stop - or a 20 mins walk - from the piers, it seems a safe area)
-price
-wifi
CONS:
- cleaness
- furnitures
- enviroment
-breakfast (coffee or tea and a poor crossait to be picked up in the reception because there isnt a table...however there is a pair of diner's just outside)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _shelley_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here unfortunately for 2 nights. If we hadnt paid in advance would of left and found elsewhere. Was dirty over the entire property and our "Continental Breakfast" included was cold coffee and dried up croissants.
The Hosts were unfriendly and couldnt understand english very well.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kingscourtWanganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I arrived there late and didn't read the receipt until I got home and they had charged me two extra days I hadn't stayed there. When I called the lady was rude and wouldn't refund the money. Not to mention I could hardly understand her and she used profanity. Why would I want to stay there for more than one day, the floors looked like they hadn't been vacuumed for a week, and between the uncomfortable bed and the noise I couldn't get a wink of sleep. Do not stay here, this is your warning please take it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#103 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#139 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#83 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#127 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#165 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#140 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Ness Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Ness Inn Hotel

Property: Van Ness Inn Hotel
Address: 2850 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly America's Best Inn San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Ness Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Inn Fisherman's Wharf The Best Inn at Van Ness is conveniently located five blocks away from the Cannery and Ghirardelli Square from where you can stroll and take in the sites that line the row from Fisherman's Wharf to Pier 39. You will enjoy San Francisco more from our reasonably priced, attractive accommodations in one the most convenient location in town! We pride ourselves with providing first class service and attention to our guests needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Van Ness Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Best Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing