We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stop for Lunch”
Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
Ranked #61 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Benicia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stop for Lunch”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family decided to try Hillstone for lunch recently and we were not disappointed. It was our first visit and we now have another great place to go for lunch in San Francisco. The grilled artichoks is a must try along with the smoked salmon. The smoked salmon was an appetitizer but the portion was large enough to have as a main course. My mother had the trout and it was the best trout I've ever had. I'm usually not a big fan on trout in any restaurant menu. My son really enjoyed his French Dip sandwich and my steak was cooked to perfection. The service was friendly and efficient. Overall a very nice experience. Will definitely return again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    149
    44
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE place for a French Dip sandwich”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I'm sure the other items on the menu are very good, too, but the french dip is the best I've ever had. The steak is cooked to perfection and melts in your mouth. You don't need the dip, but don't ever pass on it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LUNCH FAVORITE”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I work very near to this place and treat myself to lunch there once in a while.
Everything I have ordered has been great. Especially the burgers and of course the fries taste great!
Lately, I have been ordering the soup of the day and it always seems to be better than the last soup they create. It can be a bit pricey (that is why it is a treat!) but still, love going here and love the atmosphere.
If you are visiting SF and are near FIsherman's Wharf, definately stop by and have lunch or if you already ate lunch try the Sundae!!! It is so good! :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coonkitty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Best Crab Cakes”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Big chunks of crab!! Great coleslaw, too!
We were tired from all the walking on rhe warf and this was halfway to the hotel!
Happy accident!

Helpful?
Thank Michal H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pacifica, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Ribs in Town”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great place to go for ribs especially, but our friends have enjoyed their meals of fish, Roast Beef Dip, etc. The ribs are accompanied by skinny french fries with house made catsup and a wonderful cole slaw. Be sure to have the roasted artichokes as an appetizer. Their dipping sauce is incredible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing