We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Beach Food Tour”
Review of Avital Food Tours

Avital Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.00*
and up
North Beach Culinary Experience and Alcatraz Tour
More Info
$102.00*
and up
Mission District Culinary Experience with Alcohol Pairing
More Info
$72.00*
and up
VIP Happy Hour Tour of Union Square
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: As seen on The Travel Channel, our walking food tours take guests on a unique food experience behind-the-scenes in the San Francisco Culinary World to meet chefs, restaurant owners and industry experts. You'll eat your way through the authentic local hotspots, while learning about the neighborhood history - The Mission District's murals, North Beach's Barbary Coast Trail and hidden tunnels, and Union Square's cocktail center. Bring your appetite!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“North Beach Food Tour”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Melissa was terrific. She welcomed us, provided us with many fascinating facts about the Barbary Coast and North Beach areas, and took us to five diverse wine and food locations. Great fun!!!

Thank you Melissa!

John

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwloach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    27
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip to San Francisco!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Union Square cocktail tour was the highlight of our visit to SF! My husband and I are experienced cocktail people and we still learned so much. It felt like it was catered just to us which was great. The group was small and fun and they accommodated our dietary restrictions with the food on the tour, which was nice.
Danny Ronen, who is a guest guide for them sometimes, attended the tour with us and we felt lucky to have a global spirits expert in our group!

Overall, it was fun, fascinating, the whole group became friends, we didn't want it to end, and oh the drinks were FABULOUS. So fun to do with out of town guests or just a great way to have fun with friends. Can't wait for our next trip to SF so we can do the other tours they offer. It was the best time of our entire trip!

What a fun way to experience a new area OR to discover amazing things in your own city! Wish they did this in Los Angeles. We would be all over it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sushilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a great evening: the North Beach Food and Wine Tour”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I were in San Francisco to visit our son and his bride who have just moved there from Toronto. The North Beach Food and Wine Tour was a perfect way for us to spend an evening learning more about the city, and enjoying food and wine, in a very beautiful area. I can't recommend this tour highly enough. THANK you, Melissa!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
“CAN'T MISS EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I live in San Francisco and have now enjoyed Avital Tours' Union Square cocktail tour twice, each time a unique and unforgettable experience. This is a perfect saturday afternoon for visitors and locals alike.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
“North Beach Food and Wine Tour by Avital Tours”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I together with 5 other friends took a tour of North Beach in San Francisco led by Melissa from Avital Tours. We had a very pleasant time and learned quite a bit about the history of the area while enjoying some good food and wine. It's pretty amazing that we all have been to that area many times over the past 2 decades or so, but we found out that we know so little about it. It was also good to discover new eateries that we can visit during our future excursions of the city.

Highly recommended!

Adi

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tachsheet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avital Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Avital Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing