We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delicious Taste of Spain in San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lalola Bar De Tapas - CLOSED

Lalola Bar De Tapas
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Taste of Spain in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They have amazing sangria and the tapas, although small in portions are delicious and authentic. Depending on the day, you can find a variety of classic and modern tapas to choose from. Of course, the Patatas Bravas, Sangria and the Paella are a must. I'd recommend taking the cable car since parking is extremely tough since it’s located in Nob Hill.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JGARCIASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Such a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I love Lalola! The food is quite excellent. I recommend the tortilla (it ain't Mexican so don't expect a flat, flour disc). Also the paella. That was the first time I ever had it, and I really enjoyed myself. The sangria is fabulous, and they have a pretty decent beer selection. The ambiance is very cozy, and the owner is such a sweet guy. Definitely check it out when you're in the area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lbugher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“It's closed as from tonight 14th Oct 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Found this place last night, wonderful food, fun and relaxed. But it's closing it's doors this weekend! What a loss to the area! Good luck on your new venture.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi, Usa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic tapas and white sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I just got back from Spain and so when a friend suggested this place, I was eager to find out if it is authentic. Pleasantly surprised! The two of us tried one of each tapa plus an extra plate of fried calamari and we could not finish everything. Every tapa was tasty. The fried calamari wasn't like those I had in Madrid as it was battered. They have a big container of red sangria ready to serve but I choose the wine sangria as it is supposed to be made from champagne instead of red wine. Theirs was decent. It was just right for me. Others might say it is too mild. The anchovies tapa is quite tasty and definitely try the pimento with stuffed tuna.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msnyinyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Memorable appetizers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stopped in for Sangria and appetizers, after a full day of activities. LaLola's is a cozy place to unwind and relax. Enjoyed the Paella de Pescado, Paella Lalola, and Calamares Rebozados. My favorite selection, Chuletas de Cordero, was delicious!!! Couldn't resist ordering the Tarta de Santiago and Pudin de Curasán al Chocolate to share~ what treats:) Our servers were very attentive and helpful. Great place to gather as a couple or with a group of 8 such as we had!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel-lady03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalola Bar De Tapas also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing