We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location to explore the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #86 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb location to explore the city”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is situated in the fisherman wharf district which is a beautiful and relaxed area of the city and offers superb views of Alcatraz and the bay. It's 5-10 mins from Pier 39 and the Alcatraz ferry port and on the Powell-Hyde cable car line making access around the city simple and safe.

The rooms are an apartment feel, both well appointed and maintained with laundry facilities on site and an overall small friendly feel as appose to a busy mainstream hotel. There is parking on site which was useful and the staff very helpful.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LordEddardStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    153
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
235
221
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The very well equipped kitchen has everything. The location/parking is great. All the hotel staff are very friendly and eager to help. We stayed on the "other side" of the building and did not hear much street noise that some people mentioned. The roof deck is great to enjoy the good value californian wine/beer. If there is one thing that hotel can improve is the somewhat old building kind of smell (we think from the aircon vents), or it could be due to the age of the building...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILOVETRAVEL2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is highly rated for a reason. It is a really good choice, especially if you are traveling with family.

At stated by others, the outside doesn't really call to you, but inside is what counts. The rooms are very clean with comfortable furniture and great layout.

The 1 bedroom suite had a bedroom bordering the inner courtyard so it was super quiet and private. The living room with sleeper sofa was extremely spacious, with floor to ceiling windows along the entire wall (plus good drapes for nighttime).

The kitchen was a nice space next to living room.

The bathroom was clean and workable though not large. There was an extra closet outside the bedroom for those using the sleeper sofa. The sofa was huge.

The balcony was nice. We were on the lowest floor, just above street level. Usually I like to be high and the view would be better high, but we found it fun to stand out there and people watch. The duck boats were funny when they would go by, and the streetcars were interesting.

Keep in mind this is not a 5-star so don't let the great reviews set you up for an expectation of fanciness. But everything was comfortable, clean, working, well-laid-out, and spacious.

Also the location is fantastic. There is a trolley stop in front of the lobby but one block away is the turnstile where the trolley actually starts, which is a better place to get the best seat.

They had a parking garage of their own under the building so the parking rates, though seemingly high, were less that half of everything else we have seen in the area. Plus they let us leave our car until 2PM after we checked out.

They are 2 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf shops and entertainment. Great views, even from lower floors. Nice deck on roof.

Staff is super friendly.
This will be my first choice for this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skypath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is older looking on the outside but the interior and the rooms have been upgraded and are very nice. My wife and I had a one bedroom suite (Room 305) which had plenty of room throughout except the bathroom was quite small. The suite was well equipped with a full kitchen with all the appliances you would need to cook if you chose to do so. We had requested a room on the third floor with a balcony for the view. We got the third floor but no balcony and our view was that of another building. Try and get a room with a view. The hotel is close to the wharf where there is lots to see and do and also close to the cable car turnaround. The front desk people were very helpful and the hotel offers free wifi in the rooms and a computer in the front lobby for use of the guests

Room Tip: Third floor with a balcony. make sure you don't get 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper122151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place isn't the prettiest on the outside but it's the opposite of Vegas where all the money is spent front of house. We wanted a comfortable apartment for five nights in this beautiful city and that's definitely what we got. On top of that we had a beautiful view of the Bay and Alcatraz from our balcony. Gleaming clean kitchen with thoughtful inclusions like dishwasher detergent, laundry liquid and - at last, a first on our travels - an actual kettle! Comfy bed and good linens in the bedroom - the sofa bed not so much. Poor water pressure in the shower. I thought only one wc/shower would be a problem with three adults but it was fine. Nice big living area, even with the sofa bed left open. Proper table and chairs for eating or playing cards. Two tv sets if that's your thing. LOCATION is fantastic. On top of all that, a pretty roof terrace where you can sit and enjoy views of Golden Gate Bridge, Sausalito, Alcatraz and the Bay Bridge as well as the city streets below. EXCELLENT staff (thanks to Edgar, Justin and Chris) who go the extra mile for people and were so good to us.. A few minutes' walk from Wharf, cable car stops almost outside the door. F Line (streetcar) stops right out front. Bus stop too. TIP: Buy a Muni pass on your first day and you can use it on cables, trams, buses. You'll save $s. Get it from Walgreens round the corner.

Room Tip: We had room 300. We booked nine months in advance. Best view in entire building. Top floor so not mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littlelambSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_FW, General Manager at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments! I am very glad you enjoyed your stay here. One of the major projects I am looking to get accomplished next is the exterior of the building. We want to have the outside match the inside.

Hopefully in the future we can welcome you back to The Suites should you visit San Francisco again. Until then, CHEERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Center, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Located a short distance to Ghiradelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf, the location is hard to beat. The rooftop terrace offers spectacular views of the bay, with Alcatraz in the foreground.

The suite was ok - pretty standard with kitchenette, living room, bedroom. The bathroom is pretty small and cramped, but this is San Francisco and space is precious, I guess. The view from our room was disappointing as we look into another building only feet away. On the other hand, the room was away from the street and we weren't kept awake with the traffic noise. Can't say the same about the fog horns last night, but that is the price for staying near the bay.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We used our Shell Vacation Club (now Wyndham) points and I would say it was a very good value for us. Would definitely consider staying here again next time we feel the urge to visit San Francisco.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CNielsen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback. We apologize that the view from your unit was disappointing and for the noise you experienced from the fog horns. We know that being comfortable and relaxed is important when on vacation. It’s great to hear you found the staff friendly and we hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had a great time with my wife at this location. The suite is clean and very comfortable. It is walking distance to the wharf and shops. There is a shuttle stop right next to the suites that takes you to Union Square.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank grievecrema I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Ricardo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed clean units and resort location. We hope you come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,060 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 2655 Hyde St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing