We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Believe the ratings...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #88 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
orange county
Level Contributor
215 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Believe the ratings...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I would give this hotel ten stars if possible. We stayed at the Suites last year on our visit to San Francisco but we hadn't given ourselves enough time to see all the sights. When we decided to return, I wanted to make sure we got a "street side" view room like we had last year. Knowing how popular this hotel is, I called General Manager Chris Boggess NINE months early to request our room. Despite this being too far in advance to officially book a room, he was nice enough to put us into the system, and we actually got the room we requested. What great customer service. While speaking of customer service, I would also like to thank Front Desk Manager Jason for putting up with all of my confirmation calls prior to our arrival. The staff here is all top notch. The location of this property can't be beat, being close to Fisherman's Wharf, but not in amongst the crowd. Also, after traveling through many parts of San Fran, this is really one of the better areas to stay in for safety reasons. The room rates, considering what you get in exchange, can't be beat. Be sure to reserve parking, as it is very difficult to find any in the area. The proximity to public transportation is an added benefit. The only negative during this visit was the noise. I don't know if people are getting more rude and inconsiderate towards their fellow travelers or I'm getting older and more grouchy. We had kids jumping around in the unit above ours which was quite annoying but what really bothered me was the large group of people checking out between 2AM and 4AM who rumbled their suitcases past our bedroom window and yelled at one another as if it were the middle of the day. I gave Front Deskman Edgar a short rant about this the following morning but he shrugged it off as there was nothing he could really do about it. I would highly recommend the Suites of Fisherman's Wharf and will return in the future.

Room Tip: Despite being very noisy during the day, the street side rooms are fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ragsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    147
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
223
215
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved this hotel. The location is fantastic and the rates very reasonable for this area. Although a little worn around the edges,it was clean. We loved having a kitchen to save some $ on our trip especially traveling with 2 teenagers. There are 2 large grocery stores within walking distance. We had a 2 bedroom flat that looked out onto Powell street and we heard the cable car until 1:00 pm. Didn't bother us a bit - all part of the experience of this wonderful city. The wifi was complimentary but uneven in the rooms, worked better in the centre sitting area. Parking fees were reasonable compared to other lots around. Staff were great to us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

A little worn but clean and reasonably quiet. Being in the city you will get some "city noise" plus the sound of foghorns if the bay is foggy. Nothing like the noise one hears in NYC, though. Staff very friendly and helpful, self-parking available at a very reasonable rate (~$24/24 hrs). We enjoyed the rooftop terrace and the views of the bay. The hotel is a 2-3 blocks off the waterfront and 3 blocks or so west of the Fisherman's Wharf proper. We thought the location excellent and convenient to Fisherman's Wharf. If you don't mind walking a few blocks, I recommend Cafe GoLo for breakfast (try the breakfast burrito).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crash_t51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights here, from 6/24-6/28. If I could separate my review into 3 good days (4 stars) & 1 bad day (1 star), I would. As others have mentioned, this is a great location and relatively clean. It is a bit noisy situated right on a major bus stop (which we were right above) & cable car line, but that was OK given the location. The suites were spacious and kitchens were well appointed, though a bit dated. Staff was friendly, readily providing assistance with directions & recommendations. With no A/C, the temperature in the unit got uncomfortably warm on sunny days, but there were ceiling fans & it typically cooled off at night.

The reason for the lower rating is due to one day during our stay on which we were without any running water for 8+ hours! Apparently there had been some plumbing repairs scheduled, which turned into a more serious situation. When we got back to our unit at 1:30, there was a note under our door that the hot water would be off from 1-2PM. When we tried to turn on the cold water, it didn't work. We called the front desk & they confirmed that all water was shut off and may not be back on for up to 2 hours. We tried to wait it out. Unfortunately, it coincided with the day my 2-yr. old daughter got sick, so we were stuck in the unit. After 2 hours, I called reception again and was told it could be another half hour. I asked if there were some restroom facilities nearby that we could use, and she recommended trying the Starbucks. We walked down the street, but decided to try the Argonaut instead, which allowed us to use their facilities. For the rest of the day, we waited and periodically checked back with the front desk. Had we known of the duration of the outage, we could have tried to get a room at another place, but each time we checked back, it seemed like running water would return shortly. At about 8:30, after another "half an hour" estimate, I asked if there was anywhere we could get water to give our kids sponge baths & for drinking (by that time we had exhausted our bottled water). They recommended Safeway & told us it was 3 blocks away. I walked there & it is definitely more than 3 blocks away (it may have seemed longer though because I was carrying 5 gallons of water, much of it uphill, after dark). This is another area where a service-oriented hotel could have brought in water for guests that were waiting, or at least arranged to take guests to purchase water. I realize that these things can happen even at nice places, but we were disappointed that the Suites did not have contingency plans in place (such as arranging for bottled water, arranging for guests to use nearby showers/restroom facilities, etc.) and also did not communicate well (despite promising updated, not a single communication was made by staff/management to guests after the note; they knew of our situation and promised updates, but each time, the update was initiated by me calling or going to the lobby).

When I returned from my grocery trip (by this time it was about 9:30), the water had just come back on, but it was coming out brown! After calling the front desk again, they told us to run it for 5 minutes before using. After it finally cleared up, the hot water was not working! We called again and they told us it could be another 30-45 minutes for the hot water to work, since the tank had been drained.

Upon checkout, we were charged the full $210 for the day on which we had no running water for 8 hours! The only compensation we were offered for this was free parking. Running water, restrooms & showers are essential parts of a hotel stay, & guests should not be charged full price if they are without those things for 8 hours. Also on checkout, I tried to pay with a different credit card than we had used to make the reservation (my wife had made the reservation), but for some reason that was a problem (I've done that multiple times at other places). Edgar left a message for the manager to contact me (he said I would be contacted by Monday, July 1), but I still have not received a call.

Room Tip: Avoid 100 and 101 - they are right above the bus stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Really easy check in and excellent location to the wharf. The cable car stops just outside the door and is in walking distances for so many places. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. You could hear the cable cars going outside but never stopped us from sleeping and my wife is a really light sleeper. A one block walk to Giaradelli's and the cable car turn around. I would go back to the place in a heart beat. We were on the first floor and had a sitting area outside our room as well as the ability to go to the scenic deck on the roof. Has an elevator but the exercise is go for me and the elevator is slow. Overall a good value as the room as a "full kitchen" which means it has a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, plenty of pots and dishes and utensils. It is galley style but quite functional with a coffee maker and wine bottle opener included.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning and the breeze is better on the upper floors and view better. The first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I spent 4 nights here and it was, well, great. Our suite was big and it was nice having a kitchen to save a little money on eating out. My husband and I loved the rooftop patio to watch the sunset with a glass of wine. We read about this hotel on Trip Advisor prior to booking and were a bit concerned about some postings regarding noise. The hotel is not noisy but you will hear typically city sounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

It was so awesome being right where we were! I cant stress enough how great the location was! it was a big spacious room for me and my husband and we loved the look. I enjoyed my big spacious bed and fridge! I could keep all my leftovers from the restaurants! I had wifi, i could make my special green tea anytime of the day which is important on our stove. It was a bit noisy at times but that is to be expected with location. I would recommend this to anyone staying in fishermans wharf!! Might I add it is a beautiful building with excellent staff!

Room Tip: Get a suite! so spacious and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 2655 Hyde St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing