We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking Forward to Next Visit Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #80 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harbor City, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looking Forward to Next Visit Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This property is excellently located at Hyde & North Point, the first stop up the hill on the Cable Car. You’re within walking distance of all the Fisherman’s Wharf attractions: Ghirardeli Square (be sure to visit the cupcake place), Pier 39, souvenir shopping, the famous and hole-in-the-wall restaurants, and don’t miss the Boudin sourdough bread store/restaurant. While there is onsite parking at the Suites, a car really isn’t necessary (or first choice) in getting around the city. Two major SF Muni (bus) lines (30 & 47) pick you up and/or drop you off right in front of the building (or diagonally across the Hyde/North Point intersection), making it easy and cheap to get downtown (shopping, theatres, restaurants), AT&T Park, the Castro, the Haight Ashbury, and Golden Gate Park (including the De Young Museum). That said, if you’re one to cook and eat in, the fully equipped kitchen makes it easy to do so. Safeway and Trader Joe’s markets within walking (mostly flat!) distance. Once the clouds disappear (it happens more than you think!), the views are spectacular. During our July 4 holiday week there, we had excellent views of the San Francisco Bay (including Alcatraz) to the north, of the Oakland Hills/Berkeley to the west, and the surprisingly picturesque bridges.
The newly refurbished roof deck makes it possible to see even further, great for fireworks as well as the lights of the surrounding cities. The unit has been updated in the last year or so with new furniture, carpeting, kitchen appliances, bedding, and flat panel HD TV. While you might not use it all that much, you do get local cable TV with probably 100 television and radio channels. Free Wi-Fi makes it easy to see what there is to do and how to get there and back.
Since there are only 24 units, the excellent staff (front office, housekeeping) are quick to respond

Room Tip: Ask for specific units when making a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    153
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
232
220
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

My daughter and I were delighted with our stay at the Suites at Fisherman's Wharf. The entire staff was helpful, friendly and professional. The suite was amazing (including a kitchen with full size refrigerator), and such a good value for the price! We didn't want to leave, and will definitely stay here again. Be sure to check out the rooftop terrace, and ask the desk staff anything -- they can help!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

What a great place to stay if visiting SFO for a sightseeing vacation. Not the best looking place externally, but wow, inside is different. Spacious, clean, lovely beds and linen. Well equiped kitchen area. Much better than staying in the local hotels with their crazy prices. Stay here, you get all the benefits of a hotel plus much more. They should charge to use the decking area on the roof - what a view. Would stay here again with no hesitation

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ________________
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Only 2 blocks up from Fisherman's Wharf. We had a studio which slept 4. Very clean, great housekeeping service, friendly front desk and spectacular roof top views. 1 block from main trolley stop but right outside is another trolley stop and electric car/bus stop. Very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron,Oh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here during our California vacation, and we were very happy with the hotel and it's location. We were not sure if we wanted to stay in the city or not, but glad we did. The trolley stops right outside the hotel, it's only a 3 block walk to Fisherman's Wharf and there are many restaurants within walking distance. The room itself was very nice, although the bathroom was small(not really important). Very well furnished, full kitchen if you need it, dining area, a balcony overlooking the street, and a rooftop with tables and chairs with views of the bay. We opted for the on-sight garage for 2 days and felt very safe where we left it. This is a really nice hotel. Desk staff very happy to give info, maps, directions etc. without an attitude. Kudo's. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't think youll not get what you ask for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ON
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We chose this apartment hotel over a conventional hotel because we had expected to be travelling with our teenage son and thought the extra space would be handy. Now that we've stayed at the Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, we'd pick it over a hotel any time.

The location is fantastic. Just a couple of short blocks up from the Hyde Street pier, the Maritime Museum and the start of the cable car line. And the Suites are just at the edge of a residential area, so the neighbourhood is lovely. We could easily walk to all the waterfront sites (Pier 39, Pier 33) and Union Square was just a very short bus/cable car ride away. There are ,any restaurants along High Point and Jefferson Streets, just a block or two away. There are numerous buses and a cable car line that stop right at the door, so getting around is easy.

The units themselves are extremely well equipped, despite having fairly small kitchen and bathroom, and a family of four could easily and comfortably live in them for a week or more. The kitchens have combo microwave/convection ovens plus hot plates and all the cooking tools you could want. Large living room; big screen televisions in both living and bed rooms.

The apartments are located off of a central atrium, filled with comfy chairs and lush plants. There is a "business centre" in the front lobby with access to free (if a little slow) internet and phone.

There are four first floor units that have access to a private, shared patio, which is an oasis of calm, featuring teak patio furniture and potted plants. Be sure to ask for one of these when you book. Most of the other units have patios overlooking High Point Street or no patios.

The top floor deck has incredibly comfortable Muskoka (I think Americans call them Adirondack) chairs and an amazing view of the city.

The on-site laundry facilities are clean, handy and cheap. A great convenience for a family travelling light or taking a longer trip.

The front desk staff were extremely knowledgeable about the city and very friendly and helpful. They easily rivalled the skill of the concierges at the better hotels around town.

We highly, highly recommend this hotel to any travelling families or to those who just like to prepare their own breakfasts before starting out for a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUV2travel-notmuch$
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at the Suites this last week and loved it. After reading miamotos review before going I was worried., but once we arrived I was scratching my head trying to figure out what he was talking about. First of all this is not really a hotel. It is mainly timeshare units and there are some permanent residents. We stayed in suite 106, it was obviously remodeled in the recent history. It was very modern with granite tops and new wallpaper. Many of these are privately owned and time shared or vacation rentals, but the 2 that we saw inside we very fresh and modern looking. This place sits on the corner of Hyde street, you could not ask for a better location. It is literally one block from the cable car turnaround station and the historic cable cars run right in front of the building. I am not sure how anyone could complain about having to walk out your front door and catch a cable car, but I guess some people like to complain. The noise was minimal and to me was part of the charm of being in San Francisco. If you don't like the sound of cable cars, then you should not be in San Francisco because that is what you will hear all day long throughout the wharf and Pier 39 area. I could just faintly hear them in the morning, but it was not bothersome to us at all. We loved it. The elevator is small, but there were 2 of us with 2 large suitcases, a medium travel bag, a large camera bag, 2 laptop cases and my gf's large purse and we had plenty of room. The staff was awesome, the rooms were kept immaculate. The staff went out of their way to help. Anytime I asked about anything they pulled out lists pertaining to my question (for example close restaurants). As far as no food in house, there is a fridge, microwave and stove. There are grocery stores withing a few blocks. Also you are literally one block from a mile long stretch of over 100 restaurants! There is every kind of food you could want within a few blocks. If you are just going to a hotel to sit inside and eat at the restaurant inside then San Francisco is not for you. The city is AMAZING !!!!! Anybody that is there needs to go out and walk along the wharf area, they have everything that you could want.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Freezeframefoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#26 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing