We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hotel Fusion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fusion
Ranked #121 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for three days in June in a large king size room. Excellent value for the location near Union Square. Friendly staff (especially Bianca at the front desk as we checked in). Held our bags in a secure room while our room was prepared. Decent continental breakfast to start the day included in the price. Rating would have been higher except for very loud noise from the street and attached lounge the first night which made it impossible to sleep. The other two nights were fine. Overall, it's recommended (but bring your ear plugs).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onorio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fusion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We got the hotel through hotwire. hotel is clean and overall good quality. Our room was very small but clean! We were on the 5th floor and didnt hear the club that the hotel has in the basement. breakfast is served in a small room on 5th floor and you take it in your room: coffee/ tea / some pastries / bread and bagels. that's it but that was good enough for us! Location was perfect for us (leisure trip). We definetly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laure i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location to Union Square and shopping malls. Lots of excellent restaurants in walking distance. Concierge staff welcoming and helpful. Was very noisy at points through the night as the configuration of building wraps around itself.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed there with my parents (in August 2011) in two separate rooms that were really tiny (we didn't know where to put our suitcases). In the first room my parents had, the air conditioning did not work, but they were allowed to change rooms the next day. In our room (2nd floor) the air con was working fine; however, our window was facing the street and as the entry of the nightclub in that building was practically below our window, we were regularly jolted out of our sleep (even though our window was closed): either, people were arriving or leaving on their motorbikes or people were standing in front of the entry discussing loudly (especially when the club closed).
The "breakfast buffet" was installed in an even tinier room and consisted of made a few drinks and pastries that you could take to room on disposable tableware. But as we didn't have anything to sit on in our rooms (apart from the bed, of course) and no table, that was no real option. In the end, we went to the Starbucks around the corner.

However, there are also some good points:
- The room (including the bathroom) was clean
- The staff was friendly and helpful. When my parents wanted to change their room, the staff transported their baggage to the new room (as we were sightseeing at that time). And when we were woken up at night by the "nightclub noise", we were directly upgraded to a nice and big room.
- The location is awesome.

If I factor out the "nightclub noise" you shouldn't hear so much in the rooms not facing the street, the hotel was OK. Our room was tiny, but clean and we saw that bigger rooms exist in that hotel (but for a higher price - well SF is a big city and habitable surface expensive). But if you want to spend your day sightseeing and are just looking for a clean place to sleep that is located just perfectly for starting your tours, this hotel is absolutely OK. I would even stay there again.

Room Tip: - Take a room not facing the street - If you can afford it, opt for a bigger room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramona_P-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a great boutique hotel at reasonable rates in the heart of San Francisco !. Close to all public transport and the shopping district- esp Westfield and Macys.We stayed here for 5 nights in a king room on the 5th floor. The room was clean and spacious enough for the two of us. We weren't bothered by any noise. The staff were helpful and always had a smile for us.Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bessiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Located at the centre of San Francisco close to the Union Square, this hotel is a good place to stay. However, the rooms are rather small and noisy. The breakfast was prepared in an adapted hotel room and had to be taken to your room. Breakfast hours were only from 7 to 9 am.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Finding reasonably priced quality accommodations in SF can be difficult. Sometimes the smaller boutique hotels can be good. Unfortunately, for us, this hotel was disappointing. Although clean, the room was very small and not all as nicely appointed as their website photos would lead you to believe.We were awoken at 1 am when the fire alarm went off. We called the desk and were told it was a false alarm. We asked about it later and were told that the alarm sometimes goes off due to a vent problem. The hotel offers 24/7 coffee but when we went to get some early in the morning there was none and were told it would be twenty minutes. On the positive side, the location was great and the bathroom was clean with a good shower. They provided robes and the towels were plushy.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,354 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
1,843 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fusion

Address: 140 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2110
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $158 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fusion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant fusion of old-world Asian and contemporary American styles, Hotel Fusion is an oasis in the heart of Union Square. Guest rooms are appointed with all modern furnishings, rich wood accents and feature warm inviting colors. Located steps from major business centers and popular attractions, Hotel Fusion is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. Like San Francisco, Hotel Fusion is an ideal blend of culture, class and unparalleled personal service. Hotel Fusion features a dramatic new lobby, lobby bar and restaurant, Taste on Ellis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fusion San Francisco
Hotel Fusion San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing