We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, OK free breakfast, great location”
Review of Hotel Fusion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fusion
Ranked #121 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just a couple blocks from the big Marriott Marquis where our conference was held, but they ran out of rooms and this was a much better deal - 2/3 the price, plus it included breakfast and free WiFi (Marriott did not). Very nice and helpful staff. Arranged a town car for 5am flight to airport. Free hot coffee in lobby area. Nothing fancy at this hotel, but room was clean and functional. Basic free breakfast - fruit, oatmeal, juice, pastries, coffee. Safe did not work (works differently than all other hotel safes! - Look out!), and first staff could not fix and second did not show up, then they said they'd send another, but I said "never mind." Minor inconvenience, really. Sat night, I was woken up several times by drunk loud guests in the hall between midnight and 2am - front staff or security did nothing about visitors - I recommend you ask for "Far end of hall." Nice and quiet all other nights. Did not hear their nightclub from room 411. I would stay here again if by myself, but probably not if my wife was along - room was too small for two.

Room Tip: If staying Saturday night (noisiest night), ask for room at far end of hall (away from elevator). O...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MISProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fusion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

we were in San francisco for the week of Thanksgiving and black Friday, this was a great location for shopping and all the events that we went to, had to laugh with the healthy breakfast that was available but not healthy for an Aussie understanding. but was very good place and the room was a tad small but this did not worry us, they took $100 from us for holding and this was a bit annoying - but was refunded a couple of days after we left

Room Tip: we were on the top floor and was very close to the room where we could get the breakfast
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Greetings Brenny1234,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to give us a feedback on our hotel property.

I am relieved to hear that you came out unscathed during your Black Friday shopping - it is like a war zone out there every year! I hope that your shopping went well and was able to grab some great deals.
Thank you for utilizing our complimentary continental breakfast, but please excuse us however, on our temporary breakfast arrangements. We are currently undergoing some renovations, and we will soon have a banquet room which will allow us to offer more varieties, and a place to sit for all of our guests.

Thank you once again for giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor, and I do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Second visit to SF with a friend, the first room we were given on check in was TINY! No way could we both have fit in there, luckily the hotel staff found us another room which was a much better size. The bathroom was quite small & got really foggy easily. Excellent location, right around the corner from all the big shops, and lots of eating options close by. The breakfast was really average...wouldn't bother at all. Would recommend for a short visit, but wouldn't want to stay any longer than 5 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear mel1711,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion during your stay in San Francisco. Secondly, I would like to thank you for giving us a review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on our hotel property, and we always take the time for each of the reviews to be personally reviewed by management and we make sure to share your comments with the appropriate department heads.

I understand that you had some concerns regarding the room size when you checked in; I am relieved to hear however, that the room move worked out for you and was more accommodating. Our building was erected in 1926, and due to structural challenges, all of our guests rooms vary in sizes. On a return visit to San Francisco, I would welcome you to give Hotel Fusion another try, and try one of our Deluxe Rooms.
My apologies for our temporary breakfast arrangements. We are currently undergoing a facelift, and we are building a banquet room which will allow us to offer more varieties for breakfast, and ample seating for all of our guests.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences, and hope to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
John Dimalanta

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a reasonably priced small hotel near downtown in San Francisco. All the staff were very friendly even in the mad traffic situation of "black Friday" shopping storm. It might be worth checking for cheaper public parking down Ellis Street.

Room Tip: Second floor has a club, might be more noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Joel1945,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Fusion during your stay in San Francisco, and many thanks for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated!

Should your future travels takes you back to San Francisco, please do consider staying with us again. It was a delight to have you as our guest.

Sincerely,
-John D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wonderful hotel, ideally situated for Downtown SF. Stayed for 5 nights, and had a brilliant time. The Staff are all really polite and helpful, guiding us on where to go and not go, Looking up places we'd heard of and giving us walking directions, even phoning ahead to the cheesecake factory for us (they don't take reservations but do allow phone aheads - Special thanks to Rolex for this! But all the other staff were great too, Even got a towncar to the airport on our return for almost the same cost as a taxi)

On our second day we were given an excellent walking route all the way to Fishermans wharf through China town and Little Italy Avoiding the monster hills!

The Minibar is reasonably priced and has a great big fridge for storing your own goodies in too. Security at the weekend checked room keys on entry to the hotel and the fast lifts needed your key to work so all felt safe and secure

My only thought for improvement would be to swap sheets for duvet covers, the comforters/duvets were a little old and looked grubby, but the sheets were crisp bright white, and shame that they "showed up" the duvet (could have easily hidden in a proper cover! - But thats just a preference!)

The Retro fitted AirCon was noisy but functional, so we used it to cool the room down before bed, then the ceiling fan was adequate to keep the room cool till morning

Hotel is just far enough away from the tenderloin to not be a problem, a Walgreens (like a 'Boots' for us Brits) is only a short walk away. Also a few meters away from the Powell-Market and Powell-Hyde Cable car terminal, (tip here is to start early and buy a full day pass for $14 rather that the one trip for $6 (Hyde will take you up to the top of Lombard Street (google it!))

Room Tip: We had a room on the Third floor (4th US) this avoided any nightclub noise and was handy for the bre...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMrs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear MrMrs79,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Fusion during your stay in San Francisco, and for giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. I especially would like to thank you for the very informative and detailed review - I am certain that our future guests will appreciate it!

I am delighted to hear that you had a splendid experience during your stay with us, and I'll be sure to share your comments with our staff, and extend your special thanks to Rolex.
I appreciate your thoughts on improvement, and I will definitely share this information with our Executive Housekeeper.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor, and please do consider Hotel Fusion again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Best wishes on all your future business and personal endeavors.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in November 2012. This is a terrific hotel that is central to all transport and union square. The staff were super friendly and could not have done anymore to make our stay wonderful. We had a large room, after booking the "room available a check in" option. We were travelling with another couple who ended up with a smaller room however, it was always made clear that could happen. The walls are a little thin as we could hear people coming and going at all hours past our room however, you could get that in an hotel. Breakfast consists of light continental options which you take back to your room. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The window in our room opened onto the air conditioning units in a little courtyard. This was noisy...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nozndaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hello nyrdan,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on our hotel property. I will make certain to share your kind comments to our staff.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that your future travels will bring you back to our Hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

the hotel is actually very nice and in a great location for downtown. downtown is quite crowded and close together, so you actually wont need a car in san fran as trams and buses make it easy to get around. we hired a car and it is $35 for small cars and $45 for large cars to park in their overnight valet, or if you are going out eary enough, park in the Ellis and O'Farrell parking garage it woks out cheaper. downtown has a lot of homeless people so please be prepared for that. i wasnt!! but the hotel its self is very nice, and apart from an incident. if i was ever to go back to San Fran (which i wont) i would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a 2 doubles room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear TraceyMania,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion during your stay in San Francisco, and for giving us a review on TripAdvisor. I am certain that our future guests will appreciate your advices.

You are absolutely correct that one does not need a vehicle to get around. Hotel Fusion is in the heart of downtown San Francisco's Union Square, and there are plenty of public transportation options: The Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) will take you from the San Francisco International Airport to a block away from Hotel Fusion - BART train is both speedy and economical! The World Famous Cable Car is only steps away, and the F Line Street Car which runs along Market Street that will take you to Castro Street, AT&T Park (home of the World Series Champions SF Giants!) or the Fisherman's Wharf is only a block away. Plethora of shops are also within waking distance from Hotel Fusion including high end and designer stores.

Should you change your mind on going back to San Francisco, please do consider Hotel Fusion as your home away from home - we would be delighted to have you as our guest once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
2,350 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 229 in San Francisco
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#102 of 229 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,357 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#56 of 229 in San Francisco
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fusion

Address: 140 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2110
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $155 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fusion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant fusion of old-world Asian and contemporary American styles, Hotel Fusion is an oasis in the heart of Union Square. Guest rooms are appointed with all modern furnishings, rich wood accents and feature warm inviting colors. Located steps from major business centers and popular attractions, Hotel Fusion is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. Like San Francisco, Hotel Fusion is an ideal blend of culture, class and unparalleled personal service. Hotel Fusion features a dramatic new lobby, lobby bar and restaurant, Taste on Ellis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fusion San Francisco
Hotel Fusion San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing