We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but far from restful”
Review of Hotel Fusion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fusion
Ranked #125 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
nyc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant but far from restful”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was attending a conference a few blocks away but the hotel was overbooked and I found this. San Francisco hotels are pricey, and even with the online discount, I experience some sticker shock. The room was the best part of the package -- pleasant design, clean, with free wi-fi and good tv (though I missed having a bathtub). There were few other amenities. The "free breakfast" featured substandard coffee and greasy pastries. (The Chinese restaurant downstairs is authentic, but the dishes were haphazard and not always the freshest.) At 2 am (on a week night) I was awakened by a crowd of males outside bellowing "La Marseillaise" for reasons unknown. I wouldn't avoid the Fusion, but I wouldn't seek it out either. That said, I enjoyed the location and it served its purpose.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xenophonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    502
    334
    118
    76
See reviews for
116
577
157
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This hotel was booked on my behalf for a group of us on a stay over following a sales meeting. It is great for sight seeing as it is downtown near Union Square and close to some good eateries. No complaints the room was clean and a good size, would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CastlefordAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great location. Friendly staff. There is a planned renovation planned for this year. Best value activity in SF is the MUNI 7-day pass for on US$27, ride the cable cars all day.

Room Tip: Very close to public transport and a wide variety of dinning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oznurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We are a couple in our early 30's that booked through Hotwire on a friend's recommendation and Hotel Fusion is what we got. After booking, we read reviews and instantly regretted using Hotwire but we didn't have a choice so we rolled with it and hoped for the best.

We stayed at Fusion Jan 10, 11 & 12. This was our first trip to SF and this was also our 10 year anniversary. We had let the hotel know ahead of time that we'd prefer a 4th or 5th floor room (based on reviews) and that we'd be arriving late (11pm-ish). We were assured our request would be honoured. Upon arrival, we were told our room on the 4th floor was given away (despite the room was already paid in full a month in advance) so we were given a room on the 3rd floor with a room with a king size bed and plenty of room, which was nice. But seeing as the room was on the 3rd floor, overlooked Ellis Street and the nightclub below, we were subjected to being woken up 3-5 times a night because of street noise from the nightclub - and we were there mid-week (Tues, Wed, Thurs)!!! We are really easy going but when you just want to sleep due to a busy day of sight-seeing and jet jag, the noise was excessive and we were relieved we only booked this hotel 3 nights. I can't imagine staying there on a Fri & Sat.

The positives are that it's an ideal location for shopping, public transportation, restaurants, landmarks, etc. The room was clean and a decent size. There is a continental breakfast that is just okay so we didn't bother. I did see instant oatmeal, oranges, apples, lots of pastries and coffee/tea/orange juice/apple juice.

We didn't use the fitness centre but there really isn't much in there.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to couples, families or for business - it's just too loud. Possibly a student break crowd?

We loved SF but would look somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms facing Ellis Street - these overlook the nightclub and busy street. Try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Reese6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Pros-Excellent front desk staff. Two twin room free up grade to two doubles. Right smack in the middle of all the union square action, shopping restaurants and F vintage bus line straight to wharf area...
Cons- room kinda smelt like a hospital. Room over looking busy street, expected this. 2 am chaos outside when the bar below shut down and everybody in street.
Would I stay here again? You bet.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osimo (AN)
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

L'hotel si trova a due passi dalla fermata principale della Cable car, oltre che essere vicino a fermate di metro, bus, tram che ti portano per tutta la città. E' una zona piena di turisti, centri commerciali e tanti barboni che all'inizio possono incutere timore, poi sono così innocui che ben presto ci si abitua a loro.
L'hotel ha camere poco spazione, forse non si sa dove mettere la valigia, ma il bagno è carino e abbastanza spazioso. Il letto che avevo io era piccolo ma per 4 notti, dopo giornate spese in giro per la città, va tutto + che bene. La colazione viene servita in una stanza con servizio "grab and go": quindi si va lì, si prende un vassoio e la si consuma in camera. Noi ci siamo abituati fin da subito, inoltre servono ciambelle, cornetti, ciambelloni a volontà buonissimi!
Il personale dell'hotel sembra poco accogliente in realtà danno degli ottimi consigli per quanto riguarda la visita della città.
La pulizia della camera è ottima, certo moquette ovunque ma... è l'America!
Andateci e divertitevi!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TutuLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have mixed reviews about this hotel. We stayed 4 nights in December and changed rooms twice. We had booked a king room so when we went to room and couldn't even get our cases in properly as well as my self and my husband we were frustrated. Suitcases ended up being put in the bathroom. We then lay on the bed tired from travelling and it literally vibrated from the air con unit (which couldn't be turned off). Staff changed our room (again to a small double) which was on floor lower but still vibrated (but enough to rock you to sleep). After compaining they finally moved us to a king size room, which was great ...... until we tried to sleep. The walls were paper thin and we had the pleasure of a little kid in the room next to us who decided to sing and dance around the room at 4am. Then the bins get emptied outside about 5am and they don't do it quietly ARGHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!

If your young and looking for a base and don't care so much about sleep then I would highly recommend this hotel. If your looking for a nice break when you can site see through the day then enjoy a good nights sleep then this hotel in not for you!!

On the plus ... the staff were helpful and breakfast seemed fresh and was quite nice.

Room Tip: Book a king size and make sure you get that room. Also don't expect loads of sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 228 in San Francisco
1,431 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#103 of 228 in San Francisco
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#128 of 228 in San Francisco
758 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
2,307 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fusion

Property: Hotel Fusion
Address: 140 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2110
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fusion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant fusion of old-world Asian and contemporary American styles, Hotel Fusion is an oasis in the heart of Union Square. Guest rooms are appointed with all modern furnishings, rich wood accents and feature warm inviting colors. Located steps from major business centers and popular attractions, Hotel Fusion is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. Like San Francisco, Hotel Fusion is an ideal blend of culture, class and unparalleled personal service. Hotel Fusion features a dramatic new lobby, lobby bar and restaurant, Taste on Ellis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fusion San Francisco
Hotel Fusion San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing