We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little Mexican slightly off the beaten track in San Fran”

The Little Chihuahua
Ranked #776 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Haight-Ashbury
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican slightly off the beaten track in San Fran”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had the best Mexican I have ever eaten in the Little Chihuahua on divisadero st. Superb food which left us completely stuffed and a great selection of dishes. Watch out for the habanero sauce (very very hot!)
Quite an interesting little place - don't expect fine dining and be prepared to share tables. But say yes when asked if you want chips and while you are waiting for your food dip them in the array of sauces available by the drinks. I recommend the green tomato dip - delicious!

If you are in the area GO! Wonderful food, wonderful atmosphere and all in all a great final night for us in San Fran.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranC249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mmmm good”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Carafe of Sangria, jumbo burrito and an enchilada plate. Good stuff. Wait in line to order, find a table (we shared with a family on one side and a couple of friends on the other) while munching on some nachos and salsa (complimentary) and then they dropped off the sangria, followed by the food. I'm still stuffed. And happy. Great night and $40 for all of it (half for Sangria)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rustyoletoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average, not really worth the crowd”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place was really crowded, and the line to order was long...basically a glorified Chipotle with more people convinced it is trendy. Not particularly notable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlleyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hits the spot”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in here on a local's recommendation after touring Marin County. This was just what we needed after a mediocre lunch (see my review of Vladimir's in Inverness, CA). The place was packed but the tables cleared quickly (nice to see some people recognize the social contract) and the line did as well. The options were almost too many! My girlfriend got the signature (?) plantain and rice/beans burrito, she said it wasn't what she was expecting but was good anyway. I got a mini chicken burrito that still managed to fill me up. Service was very friendly despite the crowds (they must be used to it!) and not all that expensive considering the location in bustling SF.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tklempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Restaurant.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Whilst visiting San Fran we came across the " Little Chihuahua " a really great place to dine or get takeouts from if you like us enjoy Mexican food. This restaurant name now has three locations where the food is just awesome, The staff and friendlyness was just great . There is a big selection of dipping sauces and salsa to go with the nachos. A really fun family place to dine.
The management are really on the ball here to make your visit enjoyable.
We will be back.
Two Kiwis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WSR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Chihuahua also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Little Chihuahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing