We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!!!”
Review of Mithila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mithila
Ranked #195 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We've only just arrived at the hotel. The toilet seat is MOULDY, the shower has black hairs all over it, you can barely see out of the windows due to dust/dirt.
The woman at the desk wasn't very welcoming or friendly, just rude.
At the moment I think I'd rather be sleeping outside.
Absolutely horrendous.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fingling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Mithila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 273 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Don't go for this hotel, they charged us for two extra nights and we claimed true our bank. Before going for this hotel you can easily check with your bank the number of claims toward this crappy hotel. Do not waste your money time and pride to go for this super dirty and stinking place. I don't know why they call it hotel.if you are homeless this place would be a good option for you. We didn't hesitate and left once saw the crew in pajamas and the super smells dirty room

Room Tip: Go for villa Florence hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

very stinky, rude crew welcoming you in pijamas. looks like Indian family business going on, so i guess it will say itself how dirty and stinking it can be. please trust me just pay some box more and stay in a nice hotel. you deserve more in life and your place is not this hotel. even the sheets are so dirty that I couldnt dare to sleep on that bed. and the funny thing is that they claim they have "break fast buffet" you should see that and laugh
just search a bit more online and find a better rated one

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mana62y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we could not get into the Steinhart for an entire week. It worked for one night, but for ONLY for one night. Small very dated rooms. Need updating in every way.. Furniture, bedding, paint. A saving grace is that the room was clean, the location provided great accessibility to all the city has to offer and there was a microwave and refrigerator in the room. Even with the positives, I would not stay here again and certainly would not recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Not really a great experience but then what I was looking for in SF was a place to sleep and while checking out the other hostel like places this one had an advantage of attached bathroom and double bed. Although the so called double bed was small and we had to rent extra one @15$ per day. Room was aged and that could be noticed but yes it had a tv, refrigerator and microwave which were in working condition.

The front desk staff was ok and knew there work but was not very interested in the guests as they were some college going kids working part time to meet there expenses. The walls of the room were thin and during the night you can hear murmurs from the other rooms. The worst thing experienced was that the room heater was not working and the staff did not take any effort to fix it. The only plus I could see was the location and proximity to Union Square.

I would recommend this place only if you don't get any other options at similar price and the need of the hour is budget tourism.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anks1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed at the mithila for a night... The outside looks quite run down and the corridors gave us a creepy feeling. Nevertheless, the room was big and the bed quite comfortable. However, the room didn't seem overly clean (there was a used shampoo packet in the bathroom for instance). Also, the noises outside in the corridor were quite loud. So when someone opened their door, it sounded like they were opening our door... Bit creepy. Breakfast in the morning was pretty basic... Mini muffins and Danishes and some coffee. Nothing special. The best thing about the hotel, for us, was that it was in easy walking distance to stuff; for example, we walked to the ferry building from the hotel and that only took us 20mins :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chazzehchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
401 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 230 in San Francisco
63 reviews
Layne Hotel
#203 of 230 in San Francisco
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#156 of 230 in San Francisco
856 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
151 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#185 of 230 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mithila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mithila

Address: 972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $84 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mithila 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mithila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mithila Hotel San Francisco
Mithila San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing