We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Powell Place
Nearby Hotels
$175
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$184
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$228
$195
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$269
$259
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$257
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$408
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
40
23
2
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
23
2
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatornob hilldaily maid serviceper daycable carmini apartmenttimeshare exchangefront deskthe sofa bedunion squaregreat locationeach morningrooms are cleanfisherman's wharfpowellcaliforniacars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 73 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We loved our stay at Powell Place - the bedroom was cozy, the bathroom was nice, and while the kitchen appliances may have been a tad outdated, they all worked extremely well and finished off the unit with a full kitchen. The back deck was a very nice touch, and I enjoyed morning coffee out there while reading the San Francisco paper - which was delivered to our door every morning.

The cable cars all run right by Powell Street, so the convenient location really could not be beat. We loved our stay...if you get the chance, don't pass on Powell Place!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have stayed at Powell Place a couple of times and love the location. It is right on the Powell Cable Car line and less than 25 yards away from the California line. It is just 3 blocks down to Union Square-beware- it is a HIKE back up the hill which is when the cable car comes in handy. Just down the hill are dozens of great restaurants, shops coffee shops and attractions. You really feel like you are in the middle of it all without being down in the bustling, busy and sometimes grungy parts of SF. The rooms themselves are nice and very well equip although they could use some freshening up because they feel a bit tired. The walls and ceilings are very thin, possibly paper thin. We could hear the children above us running, jumping, screaming, yelling, bathing, and it was like they were in the same room as us.
The sofa bed is awful and I felt terrible that my 63 year old mother (who stayed only 2 of our 4 nights with us) had to sleep on it. It is barely adequate for a child.
The bed in the room was just OK, definitely not a heavenly bed if you know what I mean.
I have seen other reviews where people have said the staff is not so friendly. We too experienced some of that but not so much that it ruined our trip.
Self parking is really easy just down a block and a half. The guys at the garage are so friendly and helpful.
I would definitely suggest purchasing MUNI passes for the time you are there and utilize the cable car and muni system.
Powell Place is a great way to tour and see the city and still feel a bit like a local.

Room Tip: The suites are great and spacious but don't expect any adults to be comfortable on the sofa bed.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SarahJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We just returned from San Francisco and a week at Powell Place. It was a delight! We arrived on a rainy Friday about an hour ahead of the 4:00 check-in time. Our room was not yet ready. Knowing that we had a small kitchen, we asked where the closest place to purchase grocery items might be, and were directed to a small grocery store a half block down Powell. We left our bags at the hotel and headed out. We were able to purchase the staples we needed for our stay. Our room was ready when we returned.

Our room was perfect for our needs! Very tastefully decorated, with a large sleeping area/queen size bed, a lovely bathroom and a small kitchen. WiFi is available for $20 for the week. (What a bargain!) Each room has a coffee maker with a timer, and mornings we awoke to the delicious smell of coffee brewing. A San Francisco Chronicle was placed outside of our door each morning.

As with many of the boutique hotels in San Francisco, Powell Place is in one of the old Edwardian buildings. Very few of the rooms have a view of any kind. When we looked out of our windows, we saw the side of the next door building about 12 feet away. For us, coming to San Francisco was not about the view, so this did not bother us in the least. Being on the cable car line, you can hear the whirring of the cable and clanging of the bell from 6:00 in the morning until midnight. We delighted in this, considering it to be music of San Francisco!

Being directly on Powell Street has its advantages. It is about 8 blocks DOWN Powell to Union Square. The cable car runs right in front of the hotel, and there is a stop half a block away DOWNHILL on Pine Street. I stress downhill because the famous hills of San Francisco can be quite difficult for those who are physically challenged. There is also a stop on California Street, which is UPHILL.

The people at the front desk were always friendly and accommodating. They have menus from local restaurants that will deliver. (We HIGHLY recommend Uncle Vito’s Italian several blocks down Powell.) They desk can arrange tours, schedule airport shuttle pick-up and have a HUGE library of DVD’s.

My husband and I were on the go from the day we arrived in San Francisco until the day we left. We saw everything from Golden Gate Park to the Occupy San Francisco protest march down Market Street. (All public transportation was halted during this demonstration.) We still didn’t see everything!

YOU DO NOT NEED A CAR IN SAN FRANCISCO!!! Unless it is absolutely necessary, leave your car at home. Parking/driving is a nightmare, and overnight parking is ridiculously expensive. Transportation from the airport is easy. Take a cab ($50+) or shuttle ($16 each person). You can buy a MUNI pass and ride the cable cars and MUNI transportation all over the city. We would often hop on a MUNI bus just to see where it went. It was such fun to people watch from the bus!

Enjoy your stay in San Francisco’s Powell Place. We’ll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank surfwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews