We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice value; enjoyed the duck and atmosphere”

The Old Siam Thai Restaurant
Ranked #134 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Union Square
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice value; enjoyed the duck and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Came in on a Sunday night - was crowded so expected a wait (no reservation), but we put our name in and were seated almost immediately (party of two).

Service took a bit (although as I said, it was crowded).

Ordered the Tom yum talay soup and the Old Siam duck - the waitress convinced me to get the smaller soup instead of the full-size portion, and that was a good call. I don't know Thai food well - I know what I like - and tried to go outside of my comfort zone. These were nice dishes, and good sized portions for the price.

Ordered medium spicy which was a good mix of heat and flavor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorNo303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    214
    61
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Every Time”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I know the food and service will be good and consistent. Good place to go before a show or on a lunch break.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Now you all know how tasty Thai food is, well if you go to San Francisco stay away from the Old Siam. It's about Thai as out local chip shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlanPiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Appetizing!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you are in Union Square this is the go to restaurant for Thai food.Its reasonably priced for San Fran standards.Always packed.Try the Yellow Curry.Made our diners special with their homestyle meals.
They have a vast drink menu try some local wines with your meal for a relaxing meal before ending your day.They cooked and served us many meals during our stay.Hope you all like it as much as we did!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Around-the-Globe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Huge portions, authentic Thai food”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Conviently located catty corner to the Union Square Hilton, this sunny little spot gives good value for the money and great service. All of us ordered something different and everyone was satisfied. We did need carry away boxes as the servings were generous. The Thai tea, curry, and pad thai were all very satisfying. We were starved after a day of traveling and the short wait time for food was appreciated. Staff had good communication skills and were most hospitable. Lots of windows bring the outside in despite not featuring any major views and the food was worth the visit. The salad offering was impeccable and fresh. This is someplace I will revisit! If you know me, I can share facebook photo on request of us very satisfied enjoying our meal in this sunny spot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siam Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Siam Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing