We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and bargain”

The Old Siam Thai Restaurant
Ranked #134 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Union Square
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and bargain”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent Thai food. Excellent service. Outstanding prices.

In San Francisco, or any big city, I expect to pay a lot. I ordered a glass of wine, expecting a very small amount. Instead, I was served a large goblet of good stuff for $7. I ordered fried bananas with coconut ice cream. There were two bananas and about three scoops of ice cream.

My daughter-in-law is Thai, so I am fairly knowledgeable about the cuisine. I highly recommend the Old Siam.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gomerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    214
    61
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, big portions”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Tasty thai food for a good price! We're looking for a place to eat, in the rain, and found this one and we're very happy.

Helpful?
Thank EvilElkLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Veldhoven
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Small, cosy restaurant with good Thai food.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in the Hilton for a couple of nights, which is right next door. The concierge pointed me to this restaurant, and it appeared to be a good choice. It is a small, somewhat plain restaurant, but also given the fact that it was quite packed, people appreciated the good food and friendly service. Should I stay again in the neighborhood, I would certainly want to eat there again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LePecheurEnLigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food on the cheap”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The food was good. The service and environment is something to be desired. It was cheap for the city of San Francisco. They do a nice job if your willing to assist serving yourself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Txdelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, service a bit slow”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The good:
The food was good, I had the chicken satay which was okay, and the thai pad se'ew which was very good.
Another very nice thing was a TV running pictures of all the different plates on the menu, which helps choose.

The bad:
The service was slow. I waited 15 minutes with no waiter showing up to take my order, eventually I had to get up and call one. The food arrived in a timely manner, but after that when I wanted to order a drink no waiter was to be found again. I made do without. In the end, had to wait quite a while so they take my credit card for the bill.
The restaurant was not very busy at the time, 3 waiters for like 6 tables.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siam Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Siam Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing