We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food in a Non-Assuming Food Truck” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Codmother Fish & Chips

The Codmother Fish & Chips
Ranked #15 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Food in a Non-Assuming Food Truck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Codmother doesn't look like much from the outside, and I think you could very easily pass it by, but based on recommendation from a local we made a special trip to it. It's a converted food truck with basically outdoor seating and the most amazing fish and chips I have ever had. The fish are huge, and my friend and I could have easily split one meal and still been unable to finish it all. The price makes it even better...it's such a good deal for so much food!

The two girls working their at the time were super friendly and the experience was all around amazing. I will make sure to visit The Codmother again when I'm in San Francisco!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyLady03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    199
    66
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Place doesn't look like much with only a half dozen tables but great fish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nothing like fish and chips and this place is the place for this. Large pieces of fish and an adequate quantity of fries. Staff is friendly and helpful and the outdoor setting was great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by a local and we were not disappointed!
It was the best fish & chips we've had outside of England!
Great staff, quaint atmosphere and the food could not be beat!
If you have room, don't miss the deep fried snickers bar!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suzrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Among the $$$$ Wharf Restaurants, A Little Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Codmother is a little converted food truck, now permanent stand near the tourist Mecca of Fisherman's Wharf. Nestled in between awning structures that house cheap tee-shirt and San Francisco souvenirs, the Codmother offers outdoor picnic tables and chairs for walk-up-and-order-from-the-window customers, although many take the food away as the seating is inadequate for the demand. Noting the crowd assembling for lunch time, we did just this; ordering a single serving of fish and chips for under $10. My wife and I were both filled by this single order...and was it GOOD! One of the best "chippies" outside of London, the huge order was fresh, crisp, and delicious. So were the fries. Adding the traditional accouterments like malt vinegar and tarter sauce, this meal ranks either #1 or #2 for our week-long San Fran visit. And one more thing, both the cashier who took our order, and the server that delivered this golden meal out the pick-up window, were happy, engaging, humorous, and added to the experience. Don't pass this little experience up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place to have fish and chips for not alot of money but very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Heard we needed to eat here from friend and so we did the first day. Amusing little area by the wharf. Great fish and chips. The staff were real laid back so fun to interact with.
NOTE They have fried Oreos! Oh so good and so good for you.... Definitely a good place for a quick bite in a cool outdoor food truck style set up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTikiTravelPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Codmother Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to The Codmother Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing