We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stationary Food Truck!”

The Codmother Fish & Chips
Ranked #15 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Stationary Food Truck!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We found this place based on TripAdvisor recommendations. Didn't expect it to be a food truck parked behind some tables, but that made it even better. Fish and chips were freshly cooked and amazingly crispy. I wouldn't go for the crazy fries again - sauce just wasn't that good and there was WAY too much garlic for us. Good value for the price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    212
    67
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best value and best fish and chips!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went to Codmother's several times during our week in San Francisco. Two people can easily share a fish and chips. The fish is flavorful, the breading light and the chips tasted real. They were very busy but so friendly. The fish tacos were also great but taste the medium sauce before you ask for it. It was still pretty hot! Such a fun experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeannaDemaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great service, great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I went here twice in one week; it was that good. First time, we were there for late lunch. We sat around and relaxed under the umbrellas and ate our food leisurely. It was a really nice retreat from the overly touristy Fisherman's Wharf. Second time I was there during a pretty busy lunch hour and service was just as good. All the tables were occupied but we were able to sit at a table after waiting for 5 minutes. It's fast food and a quick turnaround. The food is really good but the service is excellent!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderwall356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fresh, hot, and yummy!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Want fresh hot fish and chips quickly and from a canteen truck? This is your place. I had a large piece of fried cod ($7.50) with tartar sauce: so good I didn't use the tartar. The fries are fresh cut and looked great. Go for lunch!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InkjetJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“best fish tacos!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

These fish tacos were so good I kept coming back for more! Very friendly service, fun atmosphere and cheap prices added to the experience but the food was delish! Also had the deep fried oreos. Yummy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDNJ59W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Codmother Fish & Chips also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Codmother Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing