We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip fishermans warf and eat here!”

The Codmother Fish & Chips
Ranked #20 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Skip fishermans warf and eat here!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The Codmother is exactly the kind of place I look for when traveling. A secret place that over delivers in food and quality and does it at a great price. The restaurant is a small trailer or box in a plot of land near fishermans wharf. It has a few tables and chairs that you have to be crafty to snag which is the only downside. The food comes hot and bountiful, I ordered the large fish and chips and was stuffed for hours. My wife ate the fish tacos and loved it especially the Baja sauce. We walked the wharf later and saw all the good stands and were so happy we ate at the Codmother.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulmichellemartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    230
    68
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good fish / average atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We sought out this place after reading reviews on here. Everything said about the food is true...high quality, yummy fish...a tad on the salty side. Garlic fries should be ordered only if you LOVE garlic because you'll taste them for hours after. The patio area for seating was kind of dirty and a little old guy was digging through the trash for cans as we ate...more power to him...but the timing didn't seem appropriate. All in all, a fun experience and glad we went.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hinkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“OMG!!! The best fish & chips EVER!!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Okay, I have had fish and chips in tons of different places on the east and west coast of the US and this is the best I have EVER had.
The fish and chips are cooked to perfection that you don't even have to put anything on them. Actually any sauce will take away from the flavor.
Thank you Anthony from the tour bus for recommending it! This is the best restaurant I have tried at the wharf. You have to go there if you visit the pier area. Soooo worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaysuhn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Why can'b brick and mortar restaurants be this good”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Codmother lacks some refinement... like shelter from the weather, but has excellent food! Great fried fish and decent fries at reasonable prices make this a great alternative to a traditional restaurant. Did I mention that Codmother's is a food truck. Everything is cooked to order. No line in front of us and it took about 10-12 minutes for our order to be ready. Each order consisted of 2 nice filets of crispy battered tender white fish and some frozen french fries. "Delishhh" as my daugther would say. We did not sample any fried oreos or snickers but the group behind us did and were very complimentary. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fintastic fish and chips”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Was advised to visit the godmother by the tour bus operators as they said it was the best fish and chips they had ever eaten.

Went and have to agree its the best fish and chips I've ever eaten. The codmother is owned by an English women who came out and spoke to patrons while they were eating. Staff were friendly and service was quick. Great atmosphere siting on the small terrace watching the world go by

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robparker520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Codmother Fish & Chips also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Codmother Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing