We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambience, flavor and "In Cod We Trust"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Codmother Fish & Chips

The Codmother Fish & Chips
Ranked #15 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ambience, flavor and "In Cod We Trust"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My brother and I stopped in New Year's Eve 2012. This is a charming spot to enjoy expertly prepared fish and chips. Executive Chef and owner Suzanne and her "sous chef" created the
meaty cod fillets (evenly breaded and not greasy) and tasty pommes frites (flavorful) for us
without delay. No pastry chef required here, we enjoyed the Deep Fried Oreos (Twinkies are available, too) Next time, yes, next time the Twinkies, in honor of my Grandfather who worked for
Continental Baking Company, in Detroit in the 1930's. So, if you're feeling a bit "chipper" head directly to The Codmother for a pleasant surprise. p.s. I'm looking for Guy and Lori Fieri to give
it a taste and a feature on "Diners, Drive-ins and Dives." Bon Appetit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    199
    66
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee,NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing like a bit of fish n chips....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Met the lady who owns the place and had a lovely chat. Her codfish is done well and typically English style. Nice for a quick lunch served up fresh and hot. Reasonably priced for a nice meal outside near Fisherman's Wharf.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MamanNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Recommendation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Locals told us about The Codmother. Our hotel was about a block away and we passed it several times a day on our walks around the Wharf area. There were always customers sitting at the tables. We shared a regular portion and it was large enough for both of us. Her fish was very fresh. We were told that if she ran out of fish, she would close rather than lower her standards by buying frozen fish to serve.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onesies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“I dont even like fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

we went here because my husband loves fish and chips and everyone raved about this place. I really liked this place. For one, its informal. the restaurant is a trailer with tables and heat lamps on a patio like area. The owner was so friendly and everything was prepared while you were there. The fish and chips were not greasy and the fish was flaky. there was no fishy smell .. This place has to have the best fish and chips in the world. seriously.. The prices were fair and I could see how people would make this their go to place for hanging out for an informal meal with friends. We also had the fish tacos and they were amazing as well.. I loved the sauce that was put on top. The fish was also soft, flaky and fresh.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank breeze1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stopped here for lunch last weekend and ordered the regular order of fish and chips but quickly rushed up and changed my order to the junior after seeing the regular served to another diner. The portions were large and very reasonably prices. I couldnt even finish the junior order and I have a pretty hearty appetite. The fish tasted fresh and the homemade fries were cooked perfectly. There are only a few oustide chairs and tables so this is a great choice for those looking for a very yummy, very casual, very affordable outdoor meal half a block off the Wharf.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mazatlanbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Codmother Fish & Chips also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Codmother Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing