We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
So Amazing. Highly Recommend.

My husband and I went on the Farallon Islands Whale Watching tour yesterday and we are still so... read more

Reviewed November 11, 2018
veronicavino
,
Sacramento, California
Once in a lifetime trip!

We loved this adventure! How else could you get to see the fabled Farallon Islands up close... read more

Reviewed November 2, 2018
LHKat
,
La Honda, California
Read all 45 reviews
  
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
32
7
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
7
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales continental shelf common murres rough seas sea life bird species great trip blue footed booby unusual birds small craft marine biologist open ocean fellow passengers magical experience once in a lifetime clear days recommend this trip
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 45 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2015

The highlight was a blue whale suddenly surfacing about 30 feet away for about 5 seconds to check us out. The whale was much bigger than the 50 foot boat , 'The Salty Lady' that we were on. I snapped photos of the blue whale, humpback whales, rhinoceros auklet, tufted puffins, by-the-wind sailors, mola molas (ocean sunfish), a hundred thousand common murres nesting on the Farallon Islands, black oystercatchers in flight, black footed albatrosses, pigeon guillemots, brandt's cormorants, harbor seals, California and stellars sealions etc.

Date of experience: June 2015
6  Thank givememyscrnname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2015

This is an 8 hour trip to an island that is the home of thousands of birds and sea lions. Be prepared to a bumpy ride to the island. The guide was very informative who talked to all of us onboard. There is a small area to sit inside is being outside is uncomfortable. Take drinks and something to eat. If you get sea sick, the ride to the island can be a little rough. The experience of spotting whales is just about the most awesome thing to see in nature. From seeing the "puff" of air to watching the massive animals up close has to be experienced at least once in everyone's lifetime. We learned a lot about the islands and about whales and couldn't have asked for a better day. Dress warmly.

Date of experience: June 2015
4  Thank CherSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanicSociety1969, Director of Outreach at Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear that you learned and saw a lot, and hope that we have the chance to travel with you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2015

Had a wonderful family trip. Boy does the Oceanic Society know how to put together a great trip. From the information on their website to the assistance of Nancy Heaton on the telephone everything was laid out for a fun filled experience. The Captain and deck hand helped at every turn. The Naturalist was well informed and was enthusiastic about imparting all kinds of facts along the way. Saw about 30 whales including Grays and Blues. Seals, sea lions and multiple bird species.

Date of experience: May 2015
4  Thank Dougfrvtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanicSociety1969, Director of Outreach at Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Thank you for the great feedback, and for choosing Oceanic Society for your outing. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2015

My first ever pelagic trip in the Pacific Ocean. I've been on many in the Atlantic. This trip provided a comfortable boat, a chatty and knowledgeable guide, a strong bent towards awareness of the impact of humans on the natural world and, most of all, simply incredible views of seals, birds, and whales. We sailed right up to the Farallon Islands, where we had easy binocular and telephoto lens views of thousands of murres and gulls and a few puffins. There were groups of seals easily visible. But the highlight was close sail-bys of several Black-footed Albatross and being surrounded by EIGHT Blue Whales, all "blowing" one after the other, their glistening silvery bodies taking impossibly long to come out of and then go back into the water (showing how huge they really are). Humpback Whales also were viewed, close up. The best whale-watching I've ever experienced. A great captain with sharp eyes and excellent boat-handling skills. Can't recommend it enough.

Date of experience: June 2015
4  Thank MarcC_New_Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanicSociety1969, Director of Outreach at Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip, and hope you can join us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2015

Cant beat the price for what you get. Pack layers of clothes, it will get cold. Bring your own picnic lunch to eat on the boat. There is a naturalist that can give you lots of info about the sea life, or you can just sit back and enjoy the view. Saw many different dolphins riding along with us. We stayed out 2 hours longer than expected. We were told that the timing depended upon what we found. Well we found a few whales, and followed them for the extra time. The Captain was very good, we were out in bad swells, especially on the way back. The Captain cut the waves just right to make the ride as comfortable as possible. We did go at a time of year, when we knew weather was an issue. We had a great day, but a few people on the boat didn't, due to motion sickness. Trust me, I get motion sick in a car very easily, but I have my tricks for on a ship. First, if you don't know if you get seasick, then take the non drowsy motion sick pills and hour before you go. It is worth it, once you are sick it is too late. Always watch the horizon, if you start to feel queazy, don't go inside or close your eyes. Look at the horizon or fix your eyes on a stationary object in the distance. Also nibble slowly on crackers or candy ginger, drink ginger ale slowly. I brought all, just incase I felt ill. I never get sea sick, but know how much it can ruin your trip. I ended up handing out all my crackers and ginger to others in need. You will not get off the boat at the Farallons, they are protected and you just circle the island in the boat. We were lucky and got to watch a shark research boat, tagging sharks in the area. The Farallon Islands are a great place to see large sea creatures as it is right by the shelf where the waters drop to the very deep levels.

Date of experience: October 2014
5  Thank KerryD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanicSociety1969, Director of Outreach at Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

Thanks so much for your review, Kerry! We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your trip, and are grateful for your feedback. We hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews