We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Experience”

Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oceanic Society is a non-profit marine conservation organization founded in San Francisco in 1969. Our San Francisco whale watch programs began in 1972, and have given thousands of people the opportunity to see and learn about the Bay Area's spectacular marine wildlife, including several species of whales, dolphins, seabirds, and much more. We are the only non-profit whale watch operator in the Bay Area, and our trips are used to collect marine research and support local conservation efforts.
Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

We went on this Whale Watching Tour as a family with four adults and had a fantastic time. We saw at least twenty Humpback Whales and two Blue Whales, much more then we expected. We saw whales diving, whales breaching, swimming by the boat. Absolutely breathtaking. I took a few super pictures. The Naturalists on board wre really nice and gave lots of background information. I can definitely recommend this trip, although I assume that not every group will be so lucky to see so many whales.

5  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"common murres"
in 4 reviews
"rough seas"
in 4 reviews
"continental shelf"
in 3 reviews
"blue footed booby"
in 2 reviews
"unusual birds"
in 2 reviews
"small craft"
in 2 reviews
"marine biologist"
in 2 reviews
"fellow passengers"
in 2 reviews
"clear days"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 3 reviews
"sea lions"
in 10 reviews
"golden gate"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"seasick"
in 10 reviews
"humpbacks"
in 9 reviews
"sightings"
in 3 reviews
"thousands"
in 5 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2015

The highlight was a blue whale suddenly surfacing about 30 feet away for about 5 seconds to check us out. The whale was much bigger than the 50 foot boat , 'The Salty Lady' that we were on. I snapped photos of the blue whale, humpback whales, rhinoceros auklet, tufted puffins, by-the-wind sailors, mola molas (ocean sunfish), a hundred thousand common murres nesting on the Farallon Islands, black oystercatchers in flight, black footed albatrosses, pigeon guillemots, brandt's cormorants, harbor seals, California and stellars sealions etc.

6  Thank givememyscrnname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2015

This is an 8 hour trip to an island that is the home of thousands of birds and sea lions. Be prepared to a bumpy ride to the island. The guide was very informative who talked to all of us onboard. There is a small area to sit inside is being outside is uncomfortable. Take drinks and something to eat. If you get sea sick, the ride to the island can be a little rough. The experience of spotting whales is just about the most awesome thing to see in nature. From seeing the "puff" of air to watching the massive animals up close has to be experienced at least once in everyone's lifetime. We learned a lot about the islands and about whales and couldn't have asked for a better day. Dress warmly.

4  Thank CherSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanicSociety1969, Director of Outreach at Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear that you learned and saw a lot, and hope that we have the chance to travel with you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2015

Had a wonderful family trip. Boy does the Oceanic Society know how to put together a great trip. From the information on their website to the assistance of Nancy Heaton on the telephone everything was laid out for a fun filled experience. The Captain and deck hand helped at every turn. The Naturalist was well informed and was enthusiastic about imparting all kinds of facts along the way. Saw about 30 whales including Grays and Blues. Seals, sea lions and multiple bird species.

4  Thank Dougfrvtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanicSociety1969, Director of Outreach at Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Thank you for the great feedback, and for choosing Oceanic Society for your outing. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2015

My first ever pelagic trip in the Pacific Ocean. I've been on many in the Atlantic. This trip provided a comfortable boat, a chatty and knowledgeable guide, a strong bent towards awareness of the impact of humans on the natural world and, most of all, simply incredible views of seals, birds, and whales. We sailed right up to the Farallon Islands, where we had easy binocular and telephoto lens views of thousands of murres and gulls and a few puffins. There were groups of seals easily visible. But the highlight was close sail-bys of several Black-footed Albatross and being surrounded by EIGHT Blue Whales, all "blowing" one after the other, their glistening silvery bodies taking impossibly long to come out of and then go back into the water (showing how huge they really are). Humpback Whales also were viewed, close up. The best whale-watching I've ever experienced. A great captain with sharp eyes and excellent boat-handling skills. Can't recommend it enough.

4  Thank MarcC_New_Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanicSociety1969, Director of Outreach at Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip, and hope you can join us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Oceanic Society Farallon Islands Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing