We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great breakfast / lunch spot”
Review of Arlequin Cafe

Arlequin Cafe
Ranked #524 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great breakfast / lunch spot”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I enjoy grabbing a casual breakfast here or a lunch on the outdoor patio. The service is friendly and the food is quite good. The pastries and cookies are great. I'm a tea drinker and they have a wide selection of Mighty Leaf teas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sf_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    36
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A hidden gem plus back yard garden”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a great place for lunch! Excellent sandwiches, delicious salads, good coffee, super friendly staff. But it comes even better: you can buy a bottle of excellent wine at the adjoint wine shop, and drink it at the cafe at a 5$ charge. And why not drink it in the lovely little garden at the back?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoostDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My favorite cafe to work”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I probably come here too much. It's a great spot to sit for a while working and enjoying the food. There are several good options, such as breakfast sandwiches, lamb burger, and a grilled cheese/salad/soup combo (my favorite). Can have long lines at lunch but moves quickly. Weekend mornings and afternoons are often pretty empty.

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Hidden courtyard to relax and enjoy a drink”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had finished our errands but were too early for our dinner reservations at a nearby place, so we went into this place, intending to enjoy a drink at the sidewalk tables. We ordered our drinks (wine and soda) at the counter, and then spotted the pretty little oasis with tables and chairs set under large trees tucked away out back. We headed out there with drinks. What a lovely serendipitous find!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Patio and sightglass coffee”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Arlequin review
Context: Saturday at 11:30 gay pride weekend
Atmosphere: pretty large space inside with many tables away from the ordering so those waiting are not on top of you. Lovely garden space with probably 20 tables in a treed inner courtyard. There are a few heat lamps for cooler climes. Place had periodic whiffs of garbage however. You stand in a line at the door, place your order at the counter, take a number if you order food, and wait of you order drinks. Food is brought to your table when it's done. Free wifi no code necessary. Water is self poured by the entrance.
Service: server was very friendly and she had a long line to deal with. Line moved fairly quickly. Tables outside are not cleared promptly however.
Food: we ordered a fruit filled brioche donut and a cardamom morning bun. The brioche was light, crunchy on the outside with a tangy apricot peach filling more tart then sweet. The cardamom morning bun also seemed like brioche dough but less dense then the donut and a very strong flavor of cardamom and covered in sugar.
Drinks: we had the mighty leaf chai tea which is served with a tea bag and a tea pot, and a cup of coffee. They serve sightglass coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luluEastBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlequin Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Arlequin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing