We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patio and sightglass coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arlequin Cafe

Arlequin Cafe
Ranked #628 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Patio and sightglass coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Arlequin review
Context: Saturday at 11:30 gay pride weekend
Atmosphere: pretty large space inside with many tables away from the ordering so those waiting are not on top of you. Lovely garden space with probably 20 tables in a treed inner courtyard. There are a few heat lamps for cooler climes. Place had periodic whiffs of garbage however. You stand in a line at the door, place your order at the counter, take a number if you order food, and wait of you order drinks. Food is brought to your table when it's done. Free wifi no code necessary. Water is self poured by the entrance.
Service: server was very friendly and she had a long line to deal with. Line moved fairly quickly. Tables outside are not cleared promptly however.
Food: we ordered a fruit filled brioche donut and a cardamom morning bun. The brioche was light, crunchy on the outside with a tangy apricot peach filling more tart then sweet. The cardamom morning bun also seemed like brioche dough but less dense then the donut and a very strong flavor of cardamom and covered in sugar.
Drinks: we had the mighty leaf chai tea which is served with a tea bag and a tea pot, and a cup of coffee. They serve sightglass coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luluEastBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, local, gourmet bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wide range of locally-sourced bistro options that can be paired with your wine selection in Arlequin Wine (the store is connected to the Cafe. This little sister of the famed Absinthe Brasserie maintains the quality and flavor you expect at Absinthe while delivering an indoor/outdoor cafe experience in the Hayes Valley district.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ssaurage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the little patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great "clean" food. I really love the little back patio. It is lush and green and such a sweet little oasis. We had the breakfast burrito which was more than I needed and VERY good!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KBtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stumbled upon Arlequin Cafe while walking along Hayes St looking for a place to have lunch. One orders at the counter and the food is delivered to your table; they also do a big take-out business. We enjoyed two hot sandwiches plus a beer and a glass of wine at a modest cost. The biggest surprise was the seating on the very pleasant outdoor patio at the back. We liked it so much that we returned the next day for the equally good small pizza and excellent Cobb salad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DCtraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fills you up lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stopped for lunch with our tour group-RealSFTours. My husband and I loved our meatball sandwich. The salad that I had was also very good. They had a lovely outside seating area. We all tried their cookies for dessert and they were yummy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlequin Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Arlequin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing