We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome ice cream experience. ”
Review of Smitten Ice Cream

Smitten Ice Cream
Ranked #8 of 161 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
Description: Fun ice cream place that makes ice cream in front of your eyes by using liquid nitrogen.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

This is an experience not just an ice cream shop. Liquid nitrogen is used to make each portion to order, no chemicals or emulsifiers or anything but pure goodness. About 4-6 flavors a day. We tried salted caramel the flavor of the day, it seems and it was delicious. We also had earl grey which I liked as well.

And yes it's pricey but worth it!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank TravellingSMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 282 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

This was good ice cream and such a cool concept on making it. I visited the Santana Row location. I ordered the chocolate chip in the waffle cup. The vanilla is very good and creamy.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank lil_msbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Innovative technology combined with top quality natural ingredients produces some of the best ice cream ever. All the ice creams are made fresh as you watch with fresh ingredients and cooled with liquid nitrogen, so no preservatives needed. Very smooth and great flavours. We tried Earl Grey and also Chocolate, both were amazing. Go for the waffle cone and the recommended toppings. They are opening new locations soon.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim_Bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

I am kind of complicated regarding ice-cream and often disappointed but this one was just awesome!!! I chose the cookie dough with salty pretzel flavor and it was so delicious! Moreover, they are making the waffle cones in front of you! Normally I am never eating the cones, I don't like that but this time, it was made in front of me and so fresh! Honestly, you really have to try this place! It is a little bit pricy but it worths it!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Delicious ice cream flavors like salted caramel and mojito. Get the cookie dough on top. Also, nitrogen makes the ice cream have a great consistency. However, it's a little time intensive because they make each to order (and you can't sample the flavors).

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank laur2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitten Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Smitten Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing