We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the coolest (literally)way to make ice cream!”
Review of Smitten Ice Cream

Smitten Ice Cream
Ranked #8 of 160 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Intermission
Description: Fun ice cream place that makes ice cream in front of your eyes by using liquid nitrogen.
Reviewed August 4, 2016

The presentation is just incredible! It literally is the coolest way to make ice cream! Everything that they make is absolutely delicious!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank kencruz671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 282 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2016

I stumbled on this place by chance, walking by from a family's place. The ice cream is made by order using specialized mixers and liquid nitrogen. I was confused at first, when they said I couldn't get half and half of flavors, but quickly understood. The blueberry pie and cookie dough flavors were delicious. Very cool concept!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Amazing and tasty ice cream! Ice Cream is made with liquid Nitrogen as soon as you order it. Quick and kind service. All system managed with several Ipads.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank vcoll666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Go here just for the wow-factor, and be even more impressed by the ice cream. I had the salted caramel with pretzels and cookie-dough (definitely among the top 5 best ice cream scoops I've ever eaten). They make each batch right in front of you using liquid nitrogen. Like watching dry ice dropped into a bucket of water, the cool smoke from the deliciously frozen ice cream flows over the counter as its being made. Kids and adults alike will love it.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank JenMarieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

I love ice cream so my friend knew he had to take me here on my visit to San Francisco. The ice cream is made with liquid nitrogen so it means it is very smooth and creamy. It is made to order, so there was a queue when we arrived (about 8 people) but it didn't take long to get served. The flavours of ice cream change every day and there are four to choose from (the range always includes one classic like vanilla).

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank miniredpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitten Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Smitten Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing