We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #39 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: SoMa
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic for Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our team regularly eats here when on business, sometimes for all three meals. I thoroughly enjoy the breakfast burrito, and the lavender lemonade is out of this world. The staff is friendly without intruding, and the food is always delicious. I recommend without hesitation and look forward to dining there again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annalise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    288
    71
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun, happening place for breakfast!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a great casual place for breakfast in downtown San Francisco. I imagine that tables are scarce during busy times, but would be worth it because the food was yummy! The barista drew a flower in the foam of my cappuccino...a fun touch! Also, try the hash browns...they are made with herbs and are extra yum!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Casual, affordable and no fuss”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I really like this place for the casualness of it all and the affordability as well. We were a party of 3 and had two salads and a cheesesteak panini. The salads were large, came with some bread and were fresh and satisfying. Try the chicken apple salad and wine blue cheese crumbles. I also had a cup of chicken tortilla soup which was warm and satisfying too. We then sampled the cherry pie and carrot cake which topped off the meal quite nicely. This place is only for people who like the fast casual concept.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, md
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place for my California breakfast craving. I love going to most breakfast places in California and having Huevos Rancheros as an option. Order at the counter and they bring you your food. Great atmosphere. Dont forget to try the fresh squeezed OJ.

Helpful?
Thank Drunksweet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Californian Fare”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lunch time can be busy but the Grove although full was able to accomodate all the guests, indoor and outdoor seating and a second level with more seats. The menu was plentiful and the service quick. The seats were pretty comfortable. I had the quesadilla Was a good size and very good, Had not had Mexican for a while so the taste was yummy. The Salads were a good size and the drinks were also a good portion. Is near to the Palace Hotel and Bart, easy to get to from all areas (*near Union Square too with a short walk) Would go back again, especially if the weather was so beautiful, just to sit outside and eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMF521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing