We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #38 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: SoMa
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went to the Grove for breakfast, and that was a wonderful start of my day. Though the food was not 100% fit to my taste (a bit too much of seasoning), but it was very well made, fresh and tasty - and real American size :) (big portions). Nice staff, really nice atmosphere, good food, had great time there:)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aprill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    279
    68
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“So glad we went!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The concierge at the Marriott recommended The Grove. Even though he told us they did not take reservations and you had to place your order and then have it brought out to you we took a risk for our group of 17. As it turns out most of us sat outdoors and it really wasn't that cold. My group were students and they loved the variety. Especially the lemonades and orange juices and drinks that they concoct. I had a beet salad and it was wonderful! The kids enjoyed breakfast for dinner! Wait staff was friendly and accommodating. Definitely a treat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Made it a point to drive to The Grove on our way out of town...”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went to The Grove a couple of times while in town for a convention. The food is out of this world. Great selection of eclectic foods for breakfast and lunch. The place gets very packed for lunch but the line moves very fast. Tables are at a premium so get there a few minutes before the rush if you can. We enjoyed the food so much that we passed by on our way out of town (for a wedding we traveled 3000 miles for) specifically to grab dinner for take out. Of course, The Grove did not disappoint.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VMacca354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I went to the Grove many times for breakfast. They offer a nice selection of great food and they serve fresh orange juice. It can be noisy and busy but they have excellent music and great coffee.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank suitcase63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Electic atmosphere, very short wait & reasonable prices in SF!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wanted a brunch type meal during the lunch hour. Hotel staff rec. This place and what a find! Walked up to find a waiting line out the door, but spoke w/ an employee who happened to be dining there on his day off. He assured us line would go very quickly and service would be swift. What a "gem" he was and oh so true. I ordered eggs and hubby had sandwich. Both very good and very reasonable for S.F. We were greeted by some gentleman asking about our order and every employee was extremely gracious and courteous - I almost thought we were back in the South!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing