We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea Tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vital Tea Leaf

Vital Tea Leaf
Ranked #11 of 286 Shopping in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
US
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tea Tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Love...love this place! On a recent visit to San Francisco, my husband and I had the opportunity to spend more than an hour tea tasting in the heart San Francisco's Chinatown and what an adventure. Our "tea tasting" host was witty, entertaining and extremely knowledgeable about teas and their best uses for health and rejuvenation. We enjoyed the experience and left with a bag full of teas that we have thoroughly enjoyed. Highly recommend catching the "floor show" - highly entertaining and fun!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pjmartin1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    9
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mbehjh
Level Contributor
150 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great shop, knowledgable staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the BEST yes shop I have ever visited. We were just exploring in Chinatown when we looked in the window and saw a young lady mixing and pouring tea for groups of customers. The staff/owners are very knowledgable and we tasted many different teas, then carefully selected our teas. It was a very fun and entertaining experience. We will come back just to be able to visit again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mbehjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk County, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FREE tea tasting from an Amazing selection of Chinese teas with a very friendly & knowledgeable staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've been to each of their 3 shops in San Fran's Chinatown and each 1 has it's own style. The main shop is on 1044 Grant St and their most well-known host is Uncle Gee. He is quite a character with so much personality and knowledge. He always makes you feel welcome and comfortable. Maggie & Jin are great ladies too. Come enjoy a few cups of amazing quality teas... This isn't 'Teavana' or any other commercialized shop. It's a uniquely fun learning experience for connoisseurs and newbies. And try as much tea as you like all for FREE. You only pay if you would like to buy some. A Chinatown must-see!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Throughtly enjoyed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Great experience. Fun and informative. Great teas and would definitely go back. We are enjoying the teas purchased. Staff was friendly and helpful. Kudos!

Helpful?
Thank JAB819
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

EDIT: This review is for the location at 905 Grant Ave, apparently there is one at 509 Grant as well.

Stumbled on Vital Tea Leaf while walking through Chinatown. It was a fantastic experience. The interior is beautiful, and the people we met were so friendly and helpful. You can't buy a cup of tea in this family-owned tea shop, but they'll make you as many samples as you'd like. They are knowledgeable and pleasant, and we ended up taking home quite a bit of tea.

The tea is expensive, no doubt. But it's worth it, even just for the experience.

If you're visiting Chinatown, there's no excuse for not stopping by.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PromoRoadGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vital Tea Leaf also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Vital Tea Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing