We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome guide

Jensen was an amazing guide. We had booked the Napa Valley/Sonoma tour for our first trip. He... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Smjacobz
via mobile
Fabulous customized tour!

This was the best tour we took in San Francisco!! Amber our guide customized the wine tour to just... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2018
jrbevans11
,
Denver, Colorado
Read all 464 reviews
  
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveler rating
437
14
1
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
14
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine country napa valley san francisco hotel passenger van day trip private tour great knowledge recommend this trip small group jensen wineries winery cakebread itinerary
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Jensen was an amazing guide. We had booked the Napa Valley/Sonoma tour for our first trip. He picked out the perfect wineries and lunch for us based on our feedback. Great knowledge and attention to us. Liked him so much we booked him for the next day to take us to Muir Woods and Sausalito. Jensen found the perfect lunch place, made reservations for Muir Woods and then took us to perfect lookout for sunset. Could not have asked for more. If you are looking for a great tour you will not be disappointed with this group.

Thank Smjacobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

This was the best tour we took in San Francisco!!
Amber our guide customized the wine tour to just what we were interested in seeing and tasting.
She also surprised us with a reservation she made at Bouchon, a restaurant we really wanted to try and waited while we had a fantastic meal

The whole day was absolutely perfect - and did I mention she also picked us up at our hotel and stopped on the way so we could take pictures at the art palace and the golden gate bridge
And Amber is so knowledgeable about the area, the wineries and much more!

Get away from the crowds and have a really amazing tour customized just for you

Thank jrbevans11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

The only advantage of GHT over others is the ability to select the vineyards you would like to visit. Pretty much left on our own, recommendations based on preference indicated prior to trip fail to deliver.

Thank Nakspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Y, Owner at Green Hills Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Nakspud,

It is unfortunate to hear that you didn’t enjoy your Napa Valley wine tasting experience even though we took you to the wineries you specifically requested. If you had trusted our expertise and let us pick wineries for you to visit based on your preferences, I’m sure it would have been an amazing experience!

Thanks for the feedback.

Cheers,

Jensen Young
Green Hills Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing time on our wine tour with Jensen. Jensen did a great job curating our vineyard itinerary based on preferences we sent him in advance. We requested family-owned vineyards with some of the best wine in the region, and we could not have been more pleased (we had stops at Saintsbury, Joseph Phelps, and Cakebread). Jensen was highly knowledgeable about each vineyard we visited as well as the Napa Valley region. There wasn't a dull moment during our drive up from San Francisco as Jensen walked us through the history of winemaking in Napa and the geographic features that make the region unique. While we booked a semi-private tour (up to 7 people), we ended up having the car to ourselves (we were a party of 3), and so we spoke with Jensen at length during our tour. It was wonderful getting to know him and having him as part of our group! After finishing up at the vineyards, we asked if we could stop by Castello di Amorosa before heading back to SF, which he happily obliged. Can't recommend Green Hills and Jensen highly enough - you will experience a bespoke, unique journey into Napa led by an expert in the region. Thank you Jensen!

Thank stephenrO9158BQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

I organized a private wine-tasting tour with Green Hills tours in July of 2018. Amber was our driver and she was very accommodating during the planning process and the day-of. We had people to pick up at three different locations, unexpected traffic issues--Amber handled it all with grace!
My friends and I wanted to taste wine and see Redwoods, and Amber worked with me to find both in the Russian River Valley area.
We had a private tasting at the Square Peg winery, as well as a brief tour of the vineyards, which was very informative. The owners/hosts at Square Peg were friendly and knowledgeable as well.
Our visit to the Armstrong State Redwood Preserve was wonderful--we had a leisurely walk among the incredible trees for about an hour.
Our next stop was supposed to be a couple of wineries in Healdsburg, but a road closure forced a change of plans. Amber was very quick to find another winery and wine bar to visit.
I can't thank Amber and Green Hills Tours enough for a wonderful day. They really were so helpful and able to really tailor the experience to our group. Thank you!

Thank sc0ttm0lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

From start to finish, the day was perfect. The booking process was seamless and Amber was very pleasant on the phone. Jensen picked us up on time and had so much knowledge to share with us along the way. He always offered to stop at any time if we wanted to take any photos and made sure we were comfortable at all times. The tour was completely tailored to our preferences and needs. Would not recommend any other tour. This one was awesome and we could not say enough good things about it!!!

Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Amber made our trip to San Francisco, Napa and Sonoma a highlight of our vaction. We saw beautiful sights on the way to Napa by way of the Palace of Fine Arts and a spectacular view of the Golden Gate Bridge. We visited the Palace of Fine Arts again the following day. Amber was very knowledgeable, approachable and very perceptive to our tastes in order to create a very tailored wine country experience for us. We were thrilled to experience both Napa and Sonoma wineries that varied in sizes and specialties. As primarily white wine drinkers, we left with more than a case of wine from the day with the majority being reds! We have officially gone to the dark side. The lunch stop at R & D was great. I'm still craving the Thai Noodle Salad days later. Everything with the tour was top-notch, informative and relaxing. We highly recommend the semi-private wine tour with Amber and Green Hills Tours. Thank you Amber for a great day!

Thank MHackneylovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

This was the perfect way to see Napa for the first time! Really the only way to go as you can taste freely, see beautiful places you might miss, and leave the driving to Amber or Jensen! Green Hills Tours will listen carefully to your requests and customize the perfect day. We did a few of the big wineries that we were anxious to try and then Jensen arranged an amazing private and in-depth tour and tasting at a small winery. Especially being first timers to the overwhelmingly large area, it was great to have the experience and expertise to turn to. The pick up from our downtown San Francisco hotel was a nice bonus and the car ride was super comfortable in the luxurious SUV!

Thank sj_lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Y, Owner at Green Hills Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review about your recent experience with Green Hills Tours! We are very pleased to hear you had a great day in Napa Valley. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Amber was a guide and did a wonderful job! We rode in a luxury van. We lucked out and our small group was just us!
Amber was informative, entertaining and gave us plenty of time for our tastings and seeing the beautiful landscapes!
It was a relaxing and memorable day!

Thank Peggysh311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Y, Owner at Green Hills Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! The team here at GREEN HILLS TOURS is thrilled to hear such good feedback about Amber. We love what we do and are proud to be one of the best small group wine tours in San Francisco.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

After reading numerous reviews online, we decided to do a tour with Green Hills because we wanted a small tour setting. Jensen far surpassed any expectations we had going into the day! He picked us up from the hotel, arranged our wine stops based on our preferences, and taught us so much about wine throughout the day! It was such a treat to spend the day with such a great, knowledgable person as a guide. We stopped at 4 wineries and an amazing lunch spot. I would highly recommend Materra and Mum as preferenced stops! Cannot recommend Green Hills/Jensen enough and definitely will be back!

Thank Kinsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Y, Owner at Green Hills Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Kinsley,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! The team here at GREEN HILLS TOURS is thrilled to hear such good feedback, and we’re proud to be one of the best wine tours in San Francisco. Next time you’re here, you should try the San Francisco City Tour with us. We hope to see you again soon, and please bring a friend!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews