We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat Nostalgic”
Review of Candlestick Park - CLOSED

Candlestick Park
Attraction details
Adrian, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
2,129 reviews
565 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“Somewhat Nostalgic”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I saw one Giants game here and what I primarily remember is how cold it was. However, at the same time, it was a nice park with terrific views. It was a little out of the way but it was worth going. I would have liked to have seen a 49ers game here but unfortunately it is now too late.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    28
    20
    13
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Take the Tour Before It's Gone!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

They are doing tours of Candlestick until August 2014. If you are a 49ers fan, you MUST go. You get to see where the players' locker room is. I got to sit in Kaepernick's chair! We were on the field and got to come out of the tunnel that the players come out of during the game! Awesome!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My son is an avid sports fan so we visit as many stadiums in different cities as possible! Although it is being replaced it was a great experience and has a lot of history. Glad we went!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFerg117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Historic park”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Went to second from last game for the first time. Old stadium in need of replacement but history everywhere. Before game exhibit of Superbowl trophies was great. Parking was a nightmare. 2 hours to leave at end due to crazy traffic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting ballpark”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Unlike the previous reviewers, my trip to Candlestick was for baseball. It was 1986 and my beloved NY Mets were on their way to the World Series. At home, tickets were scarce, even the nosebleed seats. That summer, a group of us undertook a baseball tour following the Mets across the country. The most outstanding stadium was Candlestick, we attended one night game and two day games. The day games were fine, a little windy but lots of sun. The night game in late July was another story. It was cold! It was windy! When the fog came it was something out of a scary movie. It crept in slowly, the fingers of fog creeping in over the stands, the only thing missing was the eerie music. I don't remember much about the stadium but we had great seats in the grandstand, along the first and third baselines and behind homeplate. It was an awesome visit Getting to and from the park was fairly easy, we drove on Friday and Saturday and traffic to the stadium was minimal, parking was easy, I remember clearly the SFPD officer in his pink sunglasses. On Sunday we used public transportation and it was so easy but we had to ditch ours Mets hats. The Mets won all three games. It is sad that so many baseball parks are being replaced, there's a certain atmosphere to the stadiums built in the late 50's early 60's that is missing in their replacements.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ledunkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candlestick Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing