We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/23/21
Expedia.com
$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/23/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$82
View deal
Hotels.com$113
Priceline$95
eDreams$95
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,249)
Filter reviews
1,249 results
Traveler rating
138
544
419
96
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
138
544
419
96
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union square great location central location lobby sf bart trolley pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,249 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

This hotel was booked as part of a package by the travel agent. We didn't want anything too expensive (San Francisco is expensive enough!). It is located only a few metres from the historic cable car route which was helpful given the hilly nature of the city. A buffet style continental breakfast was included which we enjoyed. On the downside the bathroom was small and awkwardly designed but the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Biker_Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

We stayed at The Grant for 4 nights and after the initial disappointment, found it to be an avergae hotel with a great location in the city. We struggled to find anywhere to stay in San Fran that wasn't a small fortune and so if you are on a budget and just need soemwhere to sleep then this hotel is fine. Our room was very, very basic and we noticed a big difference between the two rooms we stayed in (we left to travel and stayed at the hotel for an extra night before flying home). The free pastries for breakfast were a nice touch and the location is really handy- walkable to both Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf, although the hills of San Fran aren't easy!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aimeed18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights , and everything was OK. Maybe a bit 'old style' but clean , with all services and in great position.
The hotel management solved some small issues proving a great attention to guests.
Much appreciated.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank GSIM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019

We booked this hotel through Booking.com and found that when we arrived the charges on the front door were cheaper that what we paid. Disappointing.
Our room 408 doesn't look bad. But the beds are absolutely the pits. It feels like you are sleeping on layers of brown paper wrapping. The mattresses are definitely due for an update. And so is the chair that I am sitting on. Everything is way old and needs a refurbishment badly. The hotel is in a great area though. Very close to Union Square and the cable car. We were there only 1 night and were told that a complimentary breakfast would be served in the lobby. We did not use it, we went out for breakfast instead.

Room tip: We were in 408. View of a brick wall.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank CatrinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Union Square and Westfield less than 5 mins walk, Fishermans Wharf a good 30min walk. Cable cars 100 metres away on the cbr of Powell/Bush St. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast in foyer of muffins and pastries and coffee and tea. Water also available. Room as basic but very clean and had a big walk in wardrobe. Room was very hor even though temp outside was under 17c most days. Left the fan on and window open. Not sure it would be very pleasant in summer. Our room was sn odd numbered room at the back of hotel so noise was not an issue. Would recommend Last Drop in for drinks and responsibly priced meals. A nice cozy atmosphere and Roxannes was also good. Both a the cnr of Powell/Bush Sts.Reception staff were mostly preoccupied with their mobile phones.Would definately stay here again

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews