We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location at a reasonable price.”
Review of The Grant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grant Hotel
Ranked #129 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights end Aug/ start Sept. The Hotel is old but that should not put you off, the room was clean and bed comfortable. it's fairly basic but does the job , -- if you are in San Francisco you don't want to spend time in the hotel, there's so many better things to see and do.
This Hotel is in a very good location close to Union Square, Trolley stop at the corner and bus and metro close by at the bottom of the hill on Powell / Market street.. If you just want somewhere to sleep after a long day out sightseeing this hotel will do fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joedub55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    442
    349
    77
    44
See reviews for
193
482
75
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location is great. Close to everything a tourist would want. I would NOT stay here on business. It's definitely a budget travellers place. I would also recommend if you are travelling with someone and considering possibly a hostel. This would be a better value.

Honestly nothing spectacular. Continental breakfast was standard. Service was standard.

It's about location and price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vip_461858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Grant Hotel in August 2013.
The hotel is rather basic (but that´s what we wanted: just a nice place to sleep as we were wandering around the city all day long!) nice, clean and quiet. the position is great (close to union square and chinatown, extremely close to a cable car stop!)

Breakfast is very rich (croissants, cakes, fruit, hot beverages, the only thing you have to pay for is juice)
Staff is very nice and answered to all of our questions, giving also useful suggestions!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silviola86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Not a "pretty" hotel, nonetheless effort is put into it's decoration. I think price-performance it runs great. San Francisco is a great place to see many things, not to stay in the hotel. If you go with this in mind, it's not worth staying at a nicer place. The price is competitive with hostels in case you want to stay in a private room with your significant other. We were analyzing this when we chose the Grant Hotel and don't regret it. We stayed about a year ago, and the wi-fi reception in the room was poor, I'm not sure if they fixed that. A bit of a strange odor, like of old buildings, but other than this, it was a good place to stay at. The location is perfect for transporting yourself to different parts of the city. If you are in a car they have discounted parking across the street. The breakfast was also pretty good, better than a hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pancha_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great budget hotel on the cable car line just off Union Square (although up a steep hill). Exceptionally nice and welcoming staff. Despite being old and tired, all the fixtures were functional. The room was acceptably clean and adequately sized. The Wi-Fi works great. Breakfast is standard continental fare and coffee is free all day. "Better" quality coffee costs $1.00. Downside is that at least some rooms (including the one I had) have a view of a brick wall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mparadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, the cable car stop is just at the end of the street, and Union Square is around the corner. The decor however is pretty tired, and the light switch in our bathroom was alarmingly loose - would benefit from a refurb, and definitely from air conditioning, there was no ventilation whatsoever in our room, and due to the busy street outside you can't leave the window open unless you are a very heavy sleeper - that being said i believe we visited SF during a warmer than usual period.
Breakfast was handy, but no actual milk, only powdered creamer which wasn't ideal. I only noticed the smell in the lobby once, and as I was only passing through it didn't bother me. The WiFi for our bedroom was actually free which was a nice surprise as we were expecting to pay
The staff were very helpful and friendly, and I would consider booking again as good value for money

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#154 of 229 in San Francisco
845 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
Music City Hotel
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#138 of 229 in San Francisco
1,159 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#132 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#110 of 229 in San Francisco
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grant Hotel

Property: The Grant Hotel
Address: 753 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grant Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Grant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing