We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but tired and would benefit from air conditioning”
Review of The Grant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grant Hotel
Ranked #130 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, the cable car stop is just at the end of the street, and Union Square is around the corner. The decor however is pretty tired, and the light switch in our bathroom was alarmingly loose - would benefit from a refurb, and definitely from air conditioning, there was no ventilation whatsoever in our room, and due to the busy street outside you can't leave the window open unless you are a very heavy sleeper - that being said i believe we visited SF during a warmer than usual period.
Breakfast was handy, but no actual milk, only powdered creamer which wasn't ideal. I only noticed the smell in the lobby once, and as I was only passing through it didn't bother me. The WiFi for our bedroom was actually free which was a nice surprise as we were expecting to pay
The staff were very helpful and friendly, and I would consider booking again as good value for money

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charlottie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family of 2 adults, 2 children have just returned from a 3 week trip to California and booked all our hotels from tripadvisor reviews. This hotel was the only one I was not sure about because the reviews were more variable than normal on tripadvisor.

HOWEVER I have to write a longer than usual review because so many people seem to be obsessed with the size of the beds rather than the location, service, value for money and cleanliness of this hotel.

When travelling in perhaps the most expensive (hotel-wise) city outside of New York we accepted that a hotel in San Francisco is going to be more expensive than most cities and therefore the value for money is slightly different here; therefore our $150 per room was great for the city. The beds are indeed a little smaller than the chain hotels BUT you are in the centre of SF in a great, safe area close to the cable car, bus routes and the metro.

Also what you get here is the personal service that is outstanding. The wonderful Chinese receptionists are so helpful, kind and polite. They even printed out some baseball tickets for me as well as our boarding passes (free of charge). Nothing is too much trouble and they really made our stay.

The rooms were super clean, the lift worked fine and the hotel was so quiet at night.

I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Travelgeek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was in a perfect location for walking to the piers and main attractions (as long as you don't mind steep hills!) or you can catch a cable car from just down the road. The parking was $24 a day which was cheap compared to other places in San Francisco. The rooms were large and clean but the lobby was really musty and smelly and was also where the poor breakfast was served-apples, pastries and dry croissants with no jam or butter! We ate in a restaurant up the road instead. If you just want a base for exploring San Francisco it's fine but to be honest we would probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMeMore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is an Hotel in a great location within easy walking distance to central San Francisco. For the price paid we received reasonably large rooms with their own on-suite bathrooms. In this area of S.F. it normal to pay a significant price for a separate bathroom. However the Hotel is definitely tired.
The breakfast was adequate although not commendable, being eaten in the foyer of the Hotel with many others all trying to use the Wi-fi which had a high contention from the numerous users.
If you want an Hotel which is clean, cheap, convenient but definitely in the need of a spruce up, this is for you.
If you want luxury in San Francisco, be prepared to pay serious money.
My recommendation - I would stay here again but maybe I am easily pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we stayed there for 5 days and i think it was good value for the money we payed.very good location:10minutes from Bart.,Union square,5 min to chinatown .bus and tram stops are round the corner.some supermarkets and shopping centers are minutes away .the room was clean and comfortable enough.the only cons were windows facing the walls of the building(it was impossible to see even a bit of the sky to check the weather),and the stink in the hallway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liudmila336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at The Grant from July 5-12th in room 207. The room was very clean and the staff was very attentive. This hotel is in an excellent location. There is a cable car stop just a few steps out the door. It is also within walking distance to Union Square and Chinatown. The breakfast was pastries and coffee; however, there are several great restaurants nearby we chose for breakfast instead. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were in SF on July 23-27 and we stayed at The Grant.

Our room was 308, it was clean and confortable, and as other reviewers say, the hotel is perfect for people that are all day long sigthseeing and just want a clean, good located place to sleep.

The location of the hotel is great, adjacent to the Cable Car route and also on some MUNI buses routes, so is very very convenient.

The area is safe at night, and yes, the free breakfast is just coffee and muffins but there are good places nearby to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmlives1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#174 of 231 in San Francisco
883 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 231 in San Francisco
436 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#140 of 231 in San Francisco
410 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#191 of 231 in San Francisco
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grant Hotel

Address: 753 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $125 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grant Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing