We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - don't believe the moaners”
Review of The Grant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grant Hotel
Ranked #132 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Have just spent 6 nights at this hotel. I was abit dubious to say the least having read some of the reveiws and watched a program on the flight out about trip advisors and how they assess hotels. What can I say!! - excellent location, within walking distance of the BART (althougth up hill!!) for transfers to the airport, close to Union Square, loads of places to eat, especially the little Italian across the road and LeftyO'Dowds Irish Pub with live music just off Union Square ,also very handy for the trams to get around on. The room was basic, very clean, and a very comfy bed. The breakfasts were basic but adequate,and all i did was load a couple of plates up and ate in our room. We had no problem with the staff, always polite, friendly and courteous. If your there to spend your days sight seeing and just need some where to relax and sleep then I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly return there myself. Have stayed in alot worse places.

Room Tip: Ground floor corner room at the back very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jan0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel prices were through the roof for Fleet Week, but the Grant Hotel provided rooms for a reasonable price in an excellent location. I personally would not have chosen a better location for the hotel, because it is in the middle of it all. It's only a few minutes away from Union Square and Nob Hill and Chinatown. It's about a 25-30 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, which is not bad because on the way you will walk through Chinatown and Northbeach which has great places to grab a bite. I was a bit concerned after reading the negative reviews, but SF is an old city with older accommodations. Grant Hotel was definitely basic, but it was clean. It felt like I was staying in an apartment. We only were in the room to sleep, so basic was all we needed. I didn't notice the urine smell in the hallways that others mentioned, but it does smell like an older apartment (but that's how a lot of the apartments in SF smell like). We skipped the morning breakfast because there are SO many great places to eat in SF. I recommend Mama's in Northbeach (get there early though because people start lining up at 7:30am). If you want lunch or dinner, try Uncle Vito's across the street -- they have great pizza and you can donate $20 to them so the SF Twins can eat there too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyofshalott306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is in a perfect location! was extremely happy with what we paid for this place.
The rooms are clean and spacious.
We didnt eat the provided breakfast - the coffee was horrible. But with a starbucks on every corner.. who cares.
The only downside was you could hear every noise coming from the room above and next to us at night. I thought there was an elephant above us! :)
Staff are friendly enough, free wi-fi in the reception area too.

Room Tip: perhaps on the top floor so you dont have to listen to anyone above you stomping around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here September 2012 for sight seeing in the city. Ideal location less than 5mins from Union square. Rooms a good size, great big comfy bed. Bath, shower ok, It is basic but ideal as a base to see the city.
Free coffee in the lounge with dougnuts in the morning.
Come out entrance and turn left and walk down to Lauries diner for breakfast. American retro diner, food amazing. A two minute walk!

Would stay here again, had a great time in a great city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrkers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Grant Hotel is great located very close to Union square in downstown SF. The rooms are simple but have all you need. Internet connection is available free of charge in the lobby and if you want it in the room it will cost you 7 dollar per day. The staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast was included but was very simple and consisted of cakes and coffee.

If you want a basic hotel located in downtown this a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 days in June. Hotel is handily located and we were able to walk down town or catch the tram at the end of the street and go out to the Pier. Rooms are old and ours had no outlook, however they are tidy and have sufficient room. Breakfast was provided but we thought it was a bit skimpy with just muffins and pastries and there was a shortage of places to sit. Overall still adequate accommodation reasonably priced compared to others in the same area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philandducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed a few nights during the Nike Women's Marathon weekend in October 2011. The location was perfect as I walked everywhere. I was able to check in early and then leave my bags after checkout as well. Nothing glamorous here people, but it worked very well for my budget-minded self as I was traveling alone.

Yes, the room was small, but the closet was huge and it had everything I needed for my stay. No ice machine was a bit of a pain as I was constantly needing to ice my knee, but the guys at the italian restaurant down the street were awesome enough to fill up a bag for me.

I loved checking out the restaurants on the same street and around the corner. I really enjoyed my trip to San Fran all around.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#160 of 230 in San Francisco
864 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 230 in San Francisco
798 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
1,186 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,377 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grant Hotel

Address: 753 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $114 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grant Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing