We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sunset Secret” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanview Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceanview Motel
Ranked #202 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Arlington,VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sunset Secret”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Ocean View Motel at 4340 Judah in San Francisco is an older motel with free parking and good prices. It does need some sprucing up, but there are NO BED BUGS, get over it, There is also a friendly staff to assist you...This motel is right at the beach in Outer Sunset. The N Judah Streetcar takes you right to it or to down town. There are numerous great restaurants nearby, THAI COTTAGE, THANH LONG and OUTERLANDS, and Golden Gate Indian....there are boutiques all along the last blocks of Judah and a cool market and 7-11 too. However, the Gem of Judah is the JAVA BEACH Coffee Shop....Trouble Coffee up Judah 2 blocks is good too, but expensive, no DECAF there......book the OVM and you won't be disappointed, it's not fancy, but it IS clean. John,, Arlington,VA

Room Tip: Choose a top floor FRONT room, and don't worry about the trolley noise, you get used to it....SE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taoseno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    33
    24
    21
See reviews for
22
44
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here, I wish we hadn't.
Before you even get to the room you are presented with a poor reception area, awful stair case to the rooms. The bedroom had a light missing, bare wires, mouldy bathroom ceiling, lampshade soaked in coffee. Although the tram outside is incredibly handy its also incredibly noisy and runs all night. No one tells you this!!
Housekeeping at 6pm was very odd.
Tried to ask a question at receotion but no one came when I rang the bell.
This motel was not cheap and was really not worth the money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank frankalways29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this San Francisco location. It was the first time we stayed in the Sunset area which turned out to be a good choice. The property is situated a few minutes walk from the beach and around 10 minutes walk from the Golden Gate Park. It is also on the bus route providing easy and convenient access to the downtown area. The staff did whatever they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The facility itself has seen better days and I suggest the owners do something changing the carpets and brightening up the hotel. The hotel wasn't cheap. Having said that, the prices were comparable with the other motels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel. It is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrisgelkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I will from now on disregard all hotels/motels that have an A4 piece of paper on their entry with the 2 most intimidating words to grace a motel: NO REFUNDS.

I go check in, my partner is a smoker, so he was outside having a cigarette (first one in 5 hours as we had a rental) when someone finally came down to check us in, he was cold and unwelcoming, and noticed my boyfriend out side. he then pointed to another sign that said that there was a cleaning fee for smoking in the room, and i said yes i understand that, and he went onto charge my credit card $200 in case my partner did smoke, as well as the standard $100 bond, and the accommodation.

When we got to our "ocean view king room" that we booked we discovered what can only be described as a 1970's porno hotel room. Oh and no ocean view. King bed was 2 twins pushed together. Cockroaches (given yes they were dead) on the floor, looks like bathroom had not be cleaned in 15 years, dust on the curtains, and a definite strong smell of smoke in the air.

At the point of tears with what we were paid $160+ a night for, we made the decision right then and there that we weren't staying. then NO REFUNDS sign comes into play.

I was at the stage where i didnt want to deal with the rude man at the check in so i made my partner do it, where he was told no fewer than 5 times "no refunds". Well obviously they do give refunds as after 15 minutes he returned with credit card refund receipts and a few choice words, then informed me there were 2 other groups of people wanting refunds after him as well.

No worth considering, took us 45mins driving to make it into the city, and the bus route takes close to 1.5 hours according the the information they provided.

Room Tip: Dont expect an "ocean view" even if you have paid for it. King beds just 2 twins put toge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jilliancalderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here at least three times over the last few years and I think now I'm finally over it. At first, I thought we had discovered this little SF GEM that very few people knew about. The rates were good and it was literally across the street from the ocean, in addition it was at the end of the "N" line for the muni so you can literally jump on that for $2.00 and can go all over the city. We actually took it to the Giants ATT ballpark and it only took like 45 minutes, no transfers. There is also a great coffee house called Java Beach Cafe and they have great coffee but also have delicious sandwiches, not to mention they serve beer and have a little entertainment on a Saturday night. But now, back to the hotel rating, the bed sucked -- springs in my back. The room just felt dirty, the bathroom light didn't work, the tile near the shower was black and the muni is loud outside the bedroom window. All night & early into the morning I could hear the people above us and the creaking of the floor. For all the great amenities that are close by I kept coming back, but for $110 a night plus tax so $126. I think I'd rather stay across the Golden Gate in Marin county. Much nicer hotels and much more reasonable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This property is an older motel next to the beach in San Francisco. Golden Gate Park is two streets away. Room was clean and comfortable. Bed was very good. Easy access to the muni outside the motel. If you want a great price this is it. Parking is very tight but manageable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as the muni turns around there. No noticeable noise when you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

(The positives) The room itself was a pleasant surprise in contrast to the drab entryway. It appeared that cosmetic improvements had been made with the walls colorfully painted and adorned with rather appealing artwork. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels and supplies replenished. Appreciated the inroom refrigerator, microwave, and new coffeemaker. The location of the motel is a big plus: one block from Ocean Beach, next door to Java Beach cafe, and at the end/beginning of the N-Judah metro muni line (with popular stops along its route including the Civic Center, the Embarcadero and a straight shot to AT&T Park).
(The negatives) Initial presentation of common areas is rather bleak, e.g., worn carpet, musty odor in hallway. Also, although desk person stated that the nonworking inroom phone would be repaired "by the next day," it remained inoperable by the third day of checkout. Parking is free but limited.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms away from commonly used staircase may be quieter. Also a few rooms facing the We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccorpuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#156 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#178 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Marina District
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near...
#168 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#96 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Sunset
Great Highway Motor Inn
Great Highway Motor Inn
#159 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Motel

Property: Oceanview Motel
Address: 4340 Judah St, San Francisco, CA 94122-1029
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Sunset
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Oceanview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanview Motel San Francisco
Oceanview Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing