We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So bad suitcases didnt even make it out of the car.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanview Motel
Ranked #200 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So bad suitcases didnt even make it out of the car.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I will from now on disregard all hotels/motels that have an A4 piece of paper on their entry with the 2 most intimidating words to grace a motel: NO REFUNDS.

I go check in, my partner is a smoker, so he was outside having a cigarette (first one in 5 hours as we had a rental) when someone finally came down to check us in, he was cold and unwelcoming, and noticed my boyfriend out side. he then pointed to another sign that said that there was a cleaning fee for smoking in the room, and i said yes i understand that, and he went onto charge my credit card $200 in case my partner did smoke, as well as the standard $100 bond, and the accommodation.

When we got to our "ocean view king room" that we booked we discovered what can only be described as a 1970's porno hotel room. Oh and no ocean view. King bed was 2 twins pushed together. Cockroaches (given yes they were dead) on the floor, looks like bathroom had not be cleaned in 15 years, dust on the curtains, and a definite strong smell of smoke in the air.

At the point of tears with what we were paid $160+ a night for, we made the decision right then and there that we weren't staying. then NO REFUNDS sign comes into play.

I was at the stage where i didnt want to deal with the rude man at the check in so i made my partner do it, where he was told no fewer than 5 times "no refunds". Well obviously they do give refunds as after 15 minutes he returned with credit card refund receipts and a few choice words, then informed me there were 2 other groups of people wanting refunds after him as well.

No worth considering, took us 45mins driving to make it into the city, and the bus route takes close to 1.5 hours according the the information they provided.

Room Tip: Dont expect an "ocean view" even if you have paid for it. King beds just 2 twins put toge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jilliancalderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    34
    24
    23
See reviews for
22
47
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here at least three times over the last few years and I think now I'm finally over it. At first, I thought we had discovered this little SF GEM that very few people knew about. The rates were good and it was literally across the street from the ocean, in addition it was at the end of the "N" line for the muni so you can literally jump on that for $2.00 and can go all over the city. We actually took it to the Giants ATT ballpark and it only took like 45 minutes, no transfers. There is also a great coffee house called Java Beach Cafe and they have great coffee but also have delicious sandwiches, not to mention they serve beer and have a little entertainment on a Saturday night. But now, back to the hotel rating, the bed sucked -- springs in my back. The room just felt dirty, the bathroom light didn't work, the tile near the shower was black and the muni is loud outside the bedroom window. All night & early into the morning I could hear the people above us and the creaking of the floor. For all the great amenities that are close by I kept coming back, but for $110 a night plus tax so $126. I think I'd rather stay across the Golden Gate in Marin county. Much nicer hotels and much more reasonable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This property is an older motel next to the beach in San Francisco. Golden Gate Park is two streets away. Room was clean and comfortable. Bed was very good. Easy access to the muni outside the motel. If you want a great price this is it. Parking is very tight but manageable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as the muni turns around there. No noticeable noise when you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

(The positives) The room itself was a pleasant surprise in contrast to the drab entryway. It appeared that cosmetic improvements had been made with the walls colorfully painted and adorned with rather appealing artwork. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels and supplies replenished. Appreciated the inroom refrigerator, microwave, and new coffeemaker. The location of the motel is a big plus: one block from Ocean Beach, next door to Java Beach cafe, and at the end/beginning of the N-Judah metro muni line (with popular stops along its route including the Civic Center, the Embarcadero and a straight shot to AT&T Park).
(The negatives) Initial presentation of common areas is rather bleak, e.g., worn carpet, musty odor in hallway. Also, although desk person stated that the nonworking inroom phone would be repaired "by the next day," it remained inoperable by the third day of checkout. Parking is free but limited.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms away from commonly used staircase may be quieter. Also a few rooms facing the We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccorpuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My son and I spent one night at the motel and liked the place spontaneously. We went for a walk along the endless beach and went jogging in the park nearby. There is a lovely cafe next door (Java Beach). The motel is quite far out near the sea, but that was no problem. The room was large and clean. Downside: the trains that run just outside the windows.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edisteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENO,NV
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are coming from the Caltrain station, San Francisco, CA, you have to travel by Muni train and the travel time is around 57 mins. We got off almost in front of the motel. The service of the receptionist was fast when I handed to him my reservarion paper. My son and I occupied room 126, it's a big room with an extra king size bed, an ac and heater, small refrigerator, microwave. a small tv and with a very fast WIFI service. There's also one sofa bed and a small coffee maker(not working though). The bathroom is very clean and with a sort of solar panel that makes the bathroom bright in the daylight. It also got a private parking area for the occupants of the motel. Since the motel is closed to the beach, it's a nice place for the beach lover and joggers. The only thing I didn't like is the amount of local tax + tourism tax. But my overall impression? It's an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: The room we occupied is along the road, so you can hear the sound of the Muni train but it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank star4virgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I were there this weekend, we were there to participate at wipro run 1/2 marathon. Reasonable price, sheet were clean, free parking and easy access to ride public transportation. Our complaints were the smell of curry right when you enter the motel but the room itself never smell like curry also the heater was a little dusty, but the next morning we ask the maid to please clean the heater and she did a fantastic job.

Room Tip: The room with the skylight in the bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 250Jbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#155 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Music City Hotel
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#175 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#166 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#119 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#159 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Motel

Property: Oceanview Motel
Address: 4340 Judah St., San Francisco, CA 94122-1029
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanview Motel San Francisco
Oceanview Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing