We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay without breaking the bank” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hayes Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hayes Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay without breaking the bank”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

If you don't mind staying at a European-style inn, this is the place for you. We stayed in the Turret Room, which I believe is the most expensive in the inn at a whopping $99/night. The room itself was relatively spacious (considering this is SF) and very clean, with a huge bay window affording excellent views. The shared bathrooms are incredibly clean and we never once had to wait (there were two toilets and one shower on our floor). The only oddity is that the W.C.s don't have a sink, but each provides hand sanitizer. The sink is in your room, which is handy for washing your face, brushing teeth, etc. My only complaint, and this is NOT at all the fault of the inn, is the street noise. Some guy wailed outside our window for hours on our last night. If you're a light sleeper, definitely bring earplugs. However, you will find the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, and the location to be central (i.e. great for those looking to see many parts of the city). Finally, the breakfast spread is beyond generous. We were impressed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrekkerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    147
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
33
143
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

I was planning to move to SF on a slightly stingy budget and could either shell out major bucks for a hotel or only spend one night (which is all my company would reimburse) in the city to find an apartment. Oh and I was planning this only a few weeks before and for some reason everything in SF was booked. The remaining options started to look bad. All I could find were dingy hotels with prices to match the demand.

As a last resort, I searched Yelp (again) but this time decided to call some of the hotels that I had ruled out. The Hayes valley inn gave me a little bit of a weird vibe when I first read the reviews especially because they have a shared bathroom. Well when I called and found out that it would be less then $80 a night in a desirable area with free breakfast (not to mention they actually had rooms) I was sold. My stay was great. The room looks like it was decorated by somebody's grandmother 50 years ago but everything is well maintained.

You will be happy to know the shared bathroom situation is made easier by the fact that they are spotless. Each floor has two toilets which have their own doors and one shower room which is also private. I never had to wait to use the shower (though I wake up early).

The breakfast was more then acceptable. Coffee, meats and cheese, pastry, and hard boiled eggs. Nothing fancy, just whatever they could pick up cheap at Costco but its free and filling. There is a dining area where you can strike up a conversation with some European tourists and a sitting room where you can read in peace. They also have an afternoon tea with tasty cookies and a nice selection of stash tea.

Finally, they advertise free WIFI which they sort of deliver. The reach is spotty in some parts of the complex and they are sharing one regular DSL line so if a couple careless people start downloading "art films" or whatever in their room the rest of the building get their innocent web surfing in snail time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StandardPixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

If bar/brasserie Absynthe, opposite to the Hayes Valley Inn on Hayes/Gough St., is illustrative for the new San Francisco "theater district" (trendy, expensive, valet parking only AND jam-packed every evening) than the neighbourhood is heading for a golden future.

First victims of such a development are usually the relatively affordable lodgings like Hayes Valley Inn, this charming but remarkable crossing between a hotel and B&B. Hotel because the beds are made and clean towels provided on a daily basis. B&B because it has shared restrooms/showers in the hall.
HVI mirrors in everything the city of SF itself: large but small scaled, pacific and mediterranean, dense but open, official yet informal.

In short: great city, great hotel/B&B, great stay. May they survive!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruudkeulers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

The location was good and buses were very close. The room was clean and cozy even though the bed was a little squeaky, not very good for young couples if you don't want to disturb your neighbors. We never had a problem with the WC and only once a wet suit was drying in the bath so it was smelly. The staff was always friendly and helpful. So if you are traveling on a budget you should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serlokiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

Spent five nights here and really liked the place. I arrived quite a few hours before check-in and they looked after my luggage while I explored the local area. There is no A/C in the rooms but I didn't miss it as the room was cool and comfortable. Traffic noise in the evening might disturb some and you have to share a bathroom just along the corridor. There is wireless internet access but I couldn't get a reliable signal in my room (2nd floor). Go down to the kitchen/breakfast room (its open until 11pm) and you shouldn't have any problems as the signal was much stronger there. Staff were friendly and accommodating. If you're expecting 5 star luxury then look elsewhere. Would happily stay here again and the surrounding area has some nice restaurants/shops.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

The only reason this place didnt receive an excellent rating was because of the bathroom location...WHICH is NOT that bad at all. It's a community toilet and shower. But, they are in their separate room. There is no one else showering with you or in a stall next to you. It is set up like a house. Your bathroom isn't in your bedroom at home usually right? No its down the hall! Honestly, though, it was NOT a big deal at all. Overall, very clean, you always seen the cleaning staff, hard at work. Which I truly appreciate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deetsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino County, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Hayes Valley Inn's building is at least a century old, and is a refreshed version of what travellers of that time might wish for. This isn't a chic copy with spanking-new plastic woodwork; this is the real thing, the details nicely kept up but bearing the honest marks of time. We found it clean, comfortable and comforting -- the bedding fresh and cozy, staff friendly and helpful, free breakfast light, simple, and good. Bath & toilet down the hall, yes, but just a few doors down, and we never had to wait --- in fact I never saw anyone else in the hall. Stairs, no elevator. We had the third floor "turret room" above the corner of Gough and Hayes; a slightly larger room and more windows; had a view over roofs to City Hall dome. Lots of stairs to climb, but we considered that a way to work off some of the great food we were eating. A favorite restaurant, Absinthe, is right across the corner, and other excellent restaurants in surrounding blocks, a safe and interesting urban neighborhood. Traffic noise, yes; we're in the city after all. At home in the country we live with utter quiet, but it doesn't take us long to adapt to city sounds as normal background.
For fairly vigorous walkers (we did it, and we're in our mid-60s) Alamo Square and even Yerba Buena Center for the Arts were do-able, but if you get tired the bus and trolley system are pretty easily learned and inexpensive (75 cents for seniors, transfers included; that gives you the whole city).
Over breakfast we struck up an acquaintance with another traveler, and wound up taking a bus together down to the Orpheum on Market to see "Wicked" --- and when there was a wait for the bus to return, we walked together in pleasant cool night air, up past City Hall talking about travels and theater, all the way home. Not a Best Western experience, but we will remember it fondly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgewood46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#100 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#103 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Valley Inn

Property: Hayes Valley Inn
Address: 417 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hayes Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hayes Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Valley Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing