We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to stay for our first trip to San Fran”
Review of Hayes Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hayes Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great service and friendly staff. The breakfast was amazing! Nice and clean and close to bus stops to get you into fishermans wharf and union square. Only thing to note is that you will be sharing 2x toilets and a shower with other guests on your level but this was not an issue. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hayes Valley is definitely one of San Francisco's most exciting neighborhoods - and this charming in is right in the middle of it. Friendly staff, clean bed- and bathrooms, an excellent continental breakfast plus free tea and cookies from 4pm til late. On the down side: my room (310) was quite small, the bathrooms are tiny, there is no elevator and the back yard is loud, 24 hours/day because of a huge cooling AC installation. But hey, they provide ear plugs for free :-)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank JoostDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We loved staying at the Hayes Valley Inn for our 3-night stay in SF. It's in a great location, close to public transportation and surrounded by cute little restaurants and shops. As for the hotel itself, I thought it was great value. Bathrooms are shared, but always clean and I never once had to wait. The breakfast is at a communal table, where you might meet interesting other travellers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mental C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a super place to stay if you want to stay at a privately run hotel offering reasonable accommodation at an excellent price . The staff are very pleasant and helpful . You have to be prepared to share bathroom/toilet facilities and there is no particularly convenient parking nearby .

Room Tip: For quietness , have a room not facing Hayes or Gough Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived very late on the day of our arrival and had announced this piror via email - however, as we arrived nobody was there and only after calling them very expensively with a foreign phone they would come and get us in. We were liking freezing in the cold for ages and quite unhappy.

Besides, we were wondering why they for instance didn't provide a WiFi access which would have allowed us to call them via skype or such... but nothing.

However, in the end the stay was reasonable, the rooms are very small but clean and showers are also very clean.

The best is by far the breakfast which is awesome and receives five stars!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I felt as if I were staying in someone's home. The breakfast was decent and cookies and tea in the afternoon were a delight! The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. You could walk easily to the BART which takes you directly to the airport in under 30 minutes. Getting downtown was easy as you could either walk or take a bus round the corner from the Inn. Golden Gate Park is also about a 15 minute or less bus ride away. Restaurants and coffee shops abound close by so there were lots of pros. It is no secret that you share bathrooms and Hayes Valley is not unique when it comes to this in San Francisco. I managed although there was one morning I had to wait a bit to get in to shower! What I like is that the bathrooms were kept clean. The breakfast room is a bit small and could be extended into the adjoining room where the computer with Internet access is located but I can see why this hasn't been done. I have to say a special thanks to Dennis who works at the reception desk. He is so pleasant and warm. I would definitely recommend this establishment for value and location.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room away from the street which is very busy as well as one not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsha42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We found this place on trip advisor for a 2 night stop in SF before we caught a flight to Vegas. We had already been to SF in this trip and stayed in Union Square. We just wanted a place to lay our heads and be central base to relax.
The reason we chose this place was price , the price is great, the service from the staff is wonderful very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. The rooms are clean, the shared bathroom was clean, and the breakfast was good enough to start your day with.
I would recommend this place, cheap and cheerful is what you want, this is the place. Great location also… try the Italian across the road, very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomme1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,380 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
202 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#5 of 54 in San Francisco
1,108 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Valley Inn

Address: 417 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $109 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hayes Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hayes Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Valley Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing