We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located!”
Review of Hayes Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hayes Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Edmonton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very well located!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I felt as if I were staying in someone's home. The breakfast was decent and cookies and tea in the afternoon were a delight! The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. You could walk easily to the BART which takes you directly to the airport in under 30 minutes. Getting downtown was easy as you could either walk or take a bus round the corner from the Inn. Golden Gate Park is also about a 15 minute or less bus ride away. Restaurants and coffee shops abound close by so there were lots of pros. It is no secret that you share bathrooms and Hayes Valley is not unique when it comes to this in San Francisco. I managed although there was one morning I had to wait a bit to get in to shower! What I like is that the bathrooms were kept clean. The breakfast room is a bit small and could be extended into the adjoining room where the computer with Internet access is located but I can see why this hasn't been done. I have to say a special thanks to Dennis who works at the reception desk. He is so pleasant and warm. I would definitely recommend this establishment for value and location.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room away from the street which is very busy as well as one not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsha42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    153
    30
    16
    6
See reviews for
34
146
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We found this place on trip advisor for a 2 night stop in SF before we caught a flight to Vegas. We had already been to SF in this trip and stayed in Union Square. We just wanted a place to lay our heads and be central base to relax.
The reason we chose this place was price , the price is great, the service from the staff is wonderful very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. The rooms are clean, the shared bathroom was clean, and the breakfast was good enough to start your day with.
I would recommend this place, cheap and cheerful is what you want, this is the place. Great location also… try the Italian across the road, very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomme1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
701 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Everything was as we expect. THe room was great, with a great view and bed. The Staff is very helpfull, they are great people. The breakfast is simply but very OK to start a long day visiting SF.
The only think that is not so good is that the bathroons are share.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunoccruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pros:
1. Location and value.. Hard to beat the price to stay in downtown SF.. So many shops and restaurants around the area.. takes only minutes to get to all the downtown sites.
2. Clean - the hotel is a bit old, but very well maintained
3. Service - The staff was very helpful and informative
Cons:
1. Parking.. They have none.. luckily I found free parking on Fulton Street both nights.. If you park after 6 and find a free spot, you can park for free all night.. If you fail to find a spot, you have to pay $14 at a local garage that doesn't open until 6 AM in the morning.
2. Breakfast room is small.. it gets packed and not that comfortable.
3. Room size, bathroom and showers.. The rooms are small, the bathrooms and showers are shared.

Overall, I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AustinMattS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights and were very pleased with our experience. The staff was very helpful! The rooms are small but that did not bother us. We never had to wait for the restroom or shower. Everything was very clean! The breakfast and afternoon snacks were also very good. I really liked the Hayes Valley area. It is away from the touristy spots and has many restaurants and shops near by. We were able to take the bus downtown or walk ~15-20 minutes to the Powell St. trolley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamil249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A B&B in an area with lots of interesting shops and restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. The guests we met at breakfast (provided by the B&B) were from all over and interesting. However, our room had carpet and an accompanying funky, musty smell and the room was on the street side which was a real problem in terms of noise. each room has a sink but shared bathrooms and waterclosets. Parking is a major problem in this part of town, although public transportation is readily available. The noise was the deal breaker for us and we had to leave.

Room Tip: avoid carpeted rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SXM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Hayes Valley Inn is a great hotel to stay in while visiting San Francisco. It has a central location which makes visiting many of the different neighborhood easy and it is also located close to the bus lines and the bart station. The neighborhood shops and restaurants close by this hotel where excellent. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europetravels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#88 of 228 in San Francisco
697 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 228 in San Francisco
2,309 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#122 of 228 in San Francisco
378 reviews
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#106 of 228 in San Francisco
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Valley Inn

Property: Hayes Valley Inn
Address: 417 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hayes Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hayes Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Valley Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing