We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time is still the charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hayes Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hayes Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3rd time is still the charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went for our yearly visit to SF and stayed for our third time at Hayes Valley Inn. We love this bed & breakfast. They've got a lovely continental breakfast with ham and cheese, fruit bowl, assorted breads and jams, cereal, yogurt, orange juice and milk.
We normally leave the windows open during the day and by the time we get back to our room, it is late and our room is nice and chilly. We close the window so it is quieter at night. The hotel does have ear plugs for you to use b/c of the street noise.

Room Tip: Try and get a room opposite the street so it is a little quieter. But if you can't score a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieTH1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    145
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
33
141
48
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friend and I had reservations at this place for 4 nights. We told clerk we are senior citizens and were looking for a safe place. He told us about the shared bathroom and bunk beds to which we had no objection. Upon our arrival , at 8 PM, we were given a set of keys and told to go around the corner to the annex. This annex is located in a dark, narrow alley in front of a construction site with no connection to the main building. We went back and forth , up and down, 3 times, carrying our luggage, between the main section and the annex as the keys would not open the entry door. Finally, the clerk requested assistance from a maintenance man, who also could not open the door. We were left again in the alley, lugging our luggage to the main entrance. We demanded another room and to speak to the manager. The clerk told us that they were totally booked and no other room was available. We demanded to be booked at another hotel. After waiting for 45 minutes, the clerk showed us to a room in the same floor as the reception area which she offered to us for our stay. The manager never showed up or apologized for this situation. What angered us the most was the lie regarding room availability and the lack of response from management.
Besides the above complaint, the place is clean, staff friendly and breakfast is plentiful and varied. If you drive, be advised that parking is a huge problem. But you can park at the covered parking in the corner. Do not park in the uncovered parking, it is a rip off,

Room Tip: Make sure you ask whether or not your room is in the annex or the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank careerarm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyeongtaek, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights and I have almost nothing but nice things to say about the place. Location wise, you're a 5-10 minute walk to the 47 bus which will take you to all of the major tourist spots. Excellent breakfast AND an afternoon tea time from 4 to 10 with cookies and tea. What a great idea! The woman who owns the place is very kind and helpful as are the staff members.
Rooms are very clean and attractive. Only drawbacks: one shower for each floor. If you stay here, don't wait until 8 in the morning to take a shower. It WILL be occupied. Also, if you're here on a romantic getaway, the walls are very thin and (not to be too risque) but the beds squeak like crazy! Haha. I think you know what I'm talking about. I heard at least two other couples having a a pretty good time as I walked to the bathroom. Other than that, I would recommend this place to anyone. I will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Visited San Fransico and stayed here for two nights. The price was $115 per night and it provided your basic needs. My friend and I were given a room in the second part of the inn just around the corner from the main entrance. It was in a safe area. Clean environment. Shared bathrooms. Small tv. The room was nice though. Two beds and good fit in the room.
The breakfast was excellent I thought! It's in a little kitchen like area and people staying at the inn gather to eat in the area. Wide variety of food and all are really good.
Great for the price!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllA1Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a friendly place to stay and reasonably priced in comparison to some other places. It was not particularly central, although there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance and the management were able to advise on public transport. Ceiling fan in the room was great. We were less enthusiastic about the shared bathrooms - they were certainly immaculately clean, however when the hotel is busy you may have to wait a while for access to the shower in the morning! We were on the third floor which meant that we had to lug our suitcases up 3 flights of stairs. The breakfast was help yourself and really good with fantastic bagels and lovely cake. The kitchen could get a bit busy if lots of guests came to breakfast simultaneously. There is a computer and printer for guest use which is handy for printing out boarding passes etc. If you like dogs then you will like the pet dog which sits in the hallway - I am not really a fan and did not like having to step around it, avoid treading on dog toys and getting barked at when leaving. Having said that, the dog was friendly and in no way intimidating. Overall I would consider staying here again but I might be tempted to stay nearer to Union Square.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Hayes Valley Inn is not your typical predictable "modest" hotel. When I arrived, I was delighted to find this place very clean, charming, quaint, and comfortable. The hallway bathrooms are shared, yes, but this never seemed to be a problem - and they were always clean and neat. Each room has a sink in it, and that was handy, too. The kitchen had tea and cookies available that afternoon,, and also had a lovely breakfast (with plenty of variety) the next morning. There was even a frig and a microwave there, so you could bring in your own food, store it, and heat up. An old-fashioned sitting room gave my family a place to visit and relax before going to our separate rooms. I felt safe walking in the neighborhood that evening, and using public transportation was easy from this location. The resident dog, Spot - a senior mutt - was a friend to all who would stop to give him a bit of attention. The Hayes Valley Inn will definitely be my "go-to" place when I need to stay overnight in SF again! it feels like a home away from home.

Room Tip: There are different styles from which to choose...my double bed was great, and my family had a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancinshooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights while travelling down the West Coast. The location of the hotel is great, although a little way from the main tourist spots of San Fran.
The room was quite small but clean. The toilet was located a few doors up from us and sharing a toilet was a bit inconvenient. Our bedroom was also a bit noisy with people returning from an evening out.
The breakfast was basic, but plentiful. The staff were very helpful and nice.
Not sure if I would rush back, but it was cheap for San Fran and I think we could have done a lot more on the budget we had.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#100 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,578 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#153 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Valley Inn

Property: Hayes Valley Inn
Address: 417 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hayes Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hayes Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Valley Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing