We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #285 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast here and it was delicious. I had the breakfast special which included 2 eggs, two strips of applewood bacon, hash browns and whole wheat toast. My husband had the breakfast burrito with steak and fresh squeezed orange juice. I really enjoyed the food. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    68
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos Ca.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A welcoming and charming place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We has tickets for the Johnny Mathis show on Saturday and decided to try the Grove. It is just around the corner from Davies Hall with good parking nearby. After this initial visit we will certainly go back again. The food was very good, the service excellent and the ambiance relaxing and welcoming. The manager came around several times to make sure all was well. We appreciated his genuine concern. The food menu is casual with breakfast being served all day. We had the salmon plate, a grilled cheese sandwich and a BLT. All were quite good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyrayLosAltosCa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is one of my favorite places that we ate at in San Francisco. We ate here for lunch after strolling down Hayes street shopping in the boutiques. The atmosphere is causal and relaxed. The interior is decorated really cool with lots of different seating. The food was fresh and had generous portions. We tried their Warm Spinach Dip, The Grove Turkey Club and a great Watermelon drink. Everything was excellent. They have a great menu that offers healthy food as well as amazing desserts. Little bit of everything but all of it looked delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfy, warm, clean, great place to visit... and stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

this was an after work gathering, early evening, and it was great to sit and visit, at no time did we feel rushed, the food came quickly, and was delicious, everyone seemed very pleased with their dinner... I learned that this part of a family owned chain, and will look forward to going back again, and again...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klamathkennedys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Creative fast casual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Huge servings. Creative menu. Delicious food. Can be crowded. Pricey as is most of San Francisco. The homemade PBJ is a work of art.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing