We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere”
Review of La Boulange

La Boulange
Ranked #385 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Marina District
Florida
Level Contributor
287 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Walking down Union Street we were drawn into La Boulange by the number of people there - both standing in line at the counter and sitting at the tables outside. The coffee (served like cafe au lait in France; in large bowls) was very good and the cakes were delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shar1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    79
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Delicious Pastries”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

First time in San Francisco and I visited La Boulange in the mall. Their food is delicious and their pastries were even better. I had ordered the creme brulee and several other desserts. They were all great. Highly recommend,as the food is good and fresh and the atmosphere is amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newyorknatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilo
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Under the Dome Westfield Shopping Center”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

What's not to like? Delicious, healthy food options at a reasonable price. I had a bowl of French onion soup and a whole wheat slider with brie and apple slices... yummy! The soup was so good because it was not a greasy thick cheesy goopy soup.... it was clear with tender onion slices and it had a bread slice with cheese in it, and it was served with two toast points.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank donnaspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Level Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were driving by this little restaurant, and decided to try it. I had an open face sandwich of hummus and veggies. It was good, but not much to it. For almost $9, there was a schmear of hummus, cucumber, a piece of tomato and a little sprouts. It came with a small fruit salad. The food tasted okay, but overpriced for what it was. My husband had a salad with smoked trout that was a good size and delicious. I will probably come back and give it another try. It is a very pleasant place with a very friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birdie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
416 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 815 helpful votes
“Beyond yummy”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of eating some tasty treats from Starbucks that they produce and sell at many Starbucks! With that said, nothing compares to this real bakery with extremely fresh croissants quiches and many other baked goods and organic coffees.

I had an almond croissant that was the best I ever had and a delicious chai tea latte. I highly recommend you try this, especially if you are a fan of what you have tried at Starbucks.

This is 1 million times more fresh and more delicious than anything out of Starbucks would ever have.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boulange also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to La Boulange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing