We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good coffee and danish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boulange

La Boulange
Ranked #13 of 134 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Marina District
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good coffee and danish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good place for a coffee and danish, usually busy and locations all around SF. Went a few times on the way to work,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dr_JRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    75
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We ate several times at two branches of La Boulange.
The food is outstanding and the coffee was the best that we found in downtown San Francisco. I wish that we had found the Union sq branch earlier in our stay.
The service was quick and efficient.
We will recommend La Boulange to friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“"The go-to place for breakfast on Union"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Every time we're in San Francisco, we hit La Boulange at least once. Their pastries are incredible and their coffees are large and terrific. It can be a bit crowded, especially on the weekends, but the turnover is fast and the wait is worth it. Instead of popping into Starbuck's, do yourself a favor and take a little extra time to really enjoy a wonderful breakfast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharterOneTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, local, fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

All the food was amazing. I like that they try to use local and/or organic products. A little pricey for bakery/on the go things, but was super yummy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy breakfast place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great place for breakfast.

This place is located in the Yerba Buena Gardens in the Metreon Center.
Has a nice outdoor seating, friendly staff, and quick service.

The french toast was so yummy! Was piping hot, light, and with a layer of custard on the bottom. You also get a side of fresh fruits with it.
My husband ordered the croque madame and it was good, but he said it was a bit too cheesy, yet filling.

Will definitely come back to this place again when we are back in San Francisco.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skamikirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boulange also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to La Boulange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing