We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think of staying anywhere else in San Francisco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Marine's Memorial Club has it all. We booked through Booking.com and received a very favorable rate. We'd stayed many years ago several times when my parents were members. It is even better than I remembered. They pay tribute to the Marines through their pictures and stories they tell in the lobby and one of the guest floors. The location of this property couldn't be better, as an easy walk to Union Square and the Trolley down to Fisherman's Wharf. The price includes a wonderful happy hour and a buffet breakfast. These are on the top floor of the hotel with great views. Service by both the front desk staff and in the bar/restaurant was very good. Parking garage is only 4 store fronts up, so easy to drop your bags to check in, then drive up to leave your car. Parking is not included, and is around $30 for the day. To our surprise, they also had a guest laundry on our floor. Our corner room was a good size, no view, but good lighting which I find important. This is the best dollar value you'll ever get with the location and amenities they provide.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoopy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 790 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great service and centrally located. The decor and theater remind visitors of those who served their country. Clean (as you would expect), and service to meet the most demanding standard. Happy hour on the 12th floor overlooking part of the Bay and the City skyline. Great place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast has something for everyone. Easy walking distance (although walking San Francisco hills is no easy chore) to Union Square. Definitely return

Room Tip: Can't speak for all of the rooms but any room is well appointed. Just know that at 4 AM, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanpc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We will definitely plan on staying here again. It was such good value for our money, at a very good downtown location. The only problem, is it is a little hard to find. We were armed with the address and drove right by, as it was evening. However, if we had looked a little harder, we would have seen a sign on the sidewalk advising us to park in the garage, half block away. The bellman/concierge greeted us so warmly upon our arrival and gave us recommendations for dinner. The property décor is a tribute to our Marines. It is wonderful. The breakfast is included in the price on the room. It is a huge buffet, with friendly waiters and staff. This is on the 12th floor overlooking downtown. Rooms are quiet and nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We are members so the club and find it well worth the small fee. The heritage of the hotel is worth supporting. Pet friendly but it's about a three block walk to exercise your pets. They have limited handicapped rooms so make reservations well in advance. There is a happy hour in the bar that has a great view of downtown San Francisco. The restaurant is excellent but again, you'll want to make reservations. A fitness center is included.

Room Tip: If you don't need a roll-in showere ask for the corner handicapped room on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel was beautiful, comfortable and the prices were great. Try not to bring a large vehicle because the parking garage charges double per night so instead of $34 we had to pay $68 for our Tundra. The breakfast was free and a delicious buffet. The staff was very friendly. I HIGHLY recommend staying here. Book early because the weekends fill up.

Room Tip: The rooms we were in were very comfortable and the second room had a great view. The dining area ha...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank TammyL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have stayed here many times for 1-2 nights with our family. Marine memorabilia throughout is interesting and a true military feel. Be sure to ask for inside room, you won't get a view of the city but it will be quieter. Buffet breakfast included has a lot of selection and adds to value of the stay. Easy walk to union square, close to trolley stops.

Room Tip: Inside rooms away from street a lot more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Marines Memorial hotel offers a rich histroy of the Marine Corp. The rooms are very pleaseant and the staffs are always very accomodating. They are located in the heart of the business district, right next to china town, and all the shopping locations. They are also extemely accomodating with pets.

If you every have an opportunity to stay at San Francisco, its definately worth the investment in a memebership for their stays. The Marines Memorial is my go to place to stay everytime when I visit San Francisco.

During they day, they also have 3 bull dogs hanging around the hotel. They are extremely adorable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swtbublz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,384 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $215 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located steps from Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing