We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #14 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

You cant beat the location at such a reasonable rate.
We spent three nights there and yes the complimentary breakfast and happy hour were wonderful.
The library, with all the daily papers, was very inviting. There were fabulous cookies in the business center.
The only downside was the noise. We were on the 8th floor and with the windows shut we still heard voices and delivery noise at 2,3 and 4am.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2013traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 799 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

We recently spent a long weekend (Friday to Monday) at this outstanding hotel. The location is excellent, the room large, immaculate and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very good, and varied from day to day. The Manager's reception each evening on the twelfth floor was very pleasant, and the view outstanding. From check in to check out, every hotel employee that we met was friendly and helpful. Great hotel, great location, great people. Who could ask for anything more?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nofto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. It's a pleasure serving you and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Outstanding service in downtown San Francisco at a price that you can't find anywhere nearby.
Reception and bell boy personnel are friendly and courteous. Outstanding breakfast buffet that is not the same every day. Nearby parking service is good.

Room Tip: Great breakfast buffet and gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMejia_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Marines' Memorial appreciates your support, patronage and very kind review. Thank you so very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My sister and I just returned from a 5-day stay with Marine's and we were both in complete agreement we would not only recommend this hotel to our friends, but we would stay here again. The staff were exceptionally polite, friendly, helpful and unobtrusive, the rooms spacious and comfortable, and the location is wonderful. A boasting point for Marine's is their fantastic access to ClubOne Fitness (as a past gym manager, this full club access was a huge bonus!) and their complimentary breakfast. What an unbeatable deal. Offering a full hot and cold buffet with different selections each morning, the food was well-prepared, fresh and enjoyed with exceptional service from the waiting staff. Overall, staying with Marine's Memorial Club made our San Francisco experience something to write home about. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you so very much for your very kind review. We were so lucky to partner with Club One and so fortunate to be able to dedicate the space for such a facility. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Liked this place was reasonably priced and right in the centre of town so jolly handy. Yes it is a little dated but that added to the charm I felt and I had a feeling that I was staying in a private club if you can grasp that.

Free drinks and appetisers in the 12th floor bar were great and although I did not dine in the very popular restaurant up there it seems to have good evening views considering you are not that high. Breakfast was also served there and although it was a fairly simple affair ticked all my morning hunger boxes.

I will return for sure next time in SFO

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip_Over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you so very much for the very kind review. We will be remodeling all hotel rooms over the next 18 months.... The new room décor is sharp.... we hope you'll like it! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Classic building, outstanding service and fantastic location. The Marine's Memorial never fails to deliver a quality experience. With the wonderful breakfast and generous happy hour your travel budget will be happy.

Room Tip: Try the First Division Suite, #401. It's very spacious with a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife & I stayed here 3 nights on our way up from Carmel & Monterrey. Excellent service & outstanding value, felt right at home even though I was a British soldier and not a US Marine. Perfect location although a little busy in the evenings in the surrounding neighbourhood.

Semper Fi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonC186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you so very much for your very kind review. We appreciate your support and continued patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
699 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 231 in San Francisco
432 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $216 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located steps from Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free WiFi, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square with piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. One of the top steakhouses in the city - also serving fish, chicken and pasta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing