We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here from Oct 6th to the Oct 8th. I arrived to the hotel via a personal vehicle. I arrived on the weekend so parking is free so I wouldn't need to worry about it til Monday. However I'd like to add parking is around the 30 dollar range if you do have a vehicle. Once I arrived to the hotel. I checked in verified that I was military and went upstairs. I booked a regular room that had an hdtv a queen size bed and a nice decent size bathroom. The room was equipped with wifi and an ethernet connection. A little tidbit about wifi. It is painfully slow. If you want faster speeds either try starbucks down the street or suck it up by using the ethernet cord. I realized when I hooked up to the ethernet cord it was a lot faster.

I ventured the city a little bit and realized there was happy hour from 4pm-6pm where you can have wine and some snacks. It is complimentary and keep in mind please do tip your waiter. The hotel tries its best not to inconvenience you, you can add the tip to your room and pay it when you check out. Again this hotel provided breakfast and I'd like to say this is top notch also. The breakfast is like a buffet and has a lot of choices.

I would highly recommend coming here especially if you're active duty military. If they have any available rooms, on the weekdays its 79 and on the weekends its 99. It is a steal for a downtown hotel being that other hotels in the area on the average will run you 200 to 300 a night. I highly recommend it. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maui87a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 781 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

The MMC is a well priced hotel near Union Square with nice sized rooms. It caters to military but accommodates non-military travelers as well. There is a nice free breakfast and happy hour on the 12th floor with nices views of the city. Service is acceptable though slow and not particularly friendly. I often waited for service at the front desk even though I was the only one waiting. The front desk staff were all multi tasking. It's not great as a business hotel only having a small desk. Most electrical outlets are on thebase boards so if you have multiple devices you'll be moving furniture and on your knees often to recharge. Wifi is kinda slow as well.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank steveprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The first time we stayed at this hotel was in 1966 and since then it has been remodeled several times but it has never lost its attention to taking care of the guests. So from the time we arrived until the time we left two days later the staff responded to our every request with a smile.
The full breakfast every morning is included in the room rate and it is high quality and more than ample to start the day. The afternoon happy hour is not as impressive and I would have liked more than pretzels and salty snacks with the complementary drinks but that might have spoiled
the dinner at any number of excellent restaurants nearby including the Italian restaurant on the
first floor which smelled good but we did not have time so we are saving it for our next visit.

Room Tip: Upper floor away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiapaccap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We are not a military family, but this hotel was resplendent with the qualities that mold our warriors and heroes. This is a historical venue filled with military heroes and the respect that they are due. We truly enjoyed the historical aspect of this hotel as well as the friendly and professional staff. Honesty is evident when my expensive leather boots were left behind, and the staff documented the date, room, and item and had them safely tucked away for me to retrieve them days later when I returned.

The dining room requires a dress code of simply decent clothing--no gym clothes or sloppy, disheveled guests allowed to enter--a good model for our kids to see what integrity is all about.

The breakfast was varied, though probably more reminiscent of cafeteria style food than gourmet, but it served its purpose for a hot meal and other items to start the day.

Loved the ambience of feeling that we were in a hallowed place; the only minus was that since it's an old building, the rooms were dated with non-soundproof walls and windows, and thus, the noise from adjoining rooms and outside on the street could be heard.

The location is in Union Square, so we could walk to many restaurants and shops without hailing a cab.

We truly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators--since the rooms are not soundproof, you hear it every time the doors open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

At the corner of Sutter and Mason in the heart of San Francisco, this hotel is within walking distance of Union Square shopping, Chinatown exploring, a block from the Trolley that takes you directly to Fisherman's Wharf / Ghirardelli Square, and dining - well, dining everywhere, including the hotel's own 12-floor lounge with wonderful views to the East and West.

The decor is warm and inviting, though in some areas, a tad dark. Members of the Marines Memorial Association (veterans from any service may join) get substantial discounts on rates, but even at public rates the hotel is reasonably priced for a city as expensive as San Francisco.

The staff here is truly a family. Many (perhaps most) have been working at the hotel for decades. That translates into a genuine and heartfelt attitude of respect and pride (for themselves AND their guests) that exudes from every nook and cranny in the building.

On every floor, The Marines Memorial is a living historical museum of the great battles and great men and women that have kept America free. Yet the atmosphere never transgresses beyond the respectful to the proselytizing.

The beds are very comfortable, and most rooms are spacious, although the pet-friendly room we stayed in was smaller by comparison. To be fair, we stayed for Christmas, when high demand made some of the larger rooms unavailable, even though we booked well in advance.

Amenities are really nice - the push-pump containers of higher-end shampoo, conditioner and bath gel in the large walk-in showers. A mini-fridge; coffee pod machine; big, fluffy bathrobes, large flat-screen TV.

The hotel does not have its own parking garage, but contracts with the Olympic Club in the same block to offer a discount, bringing the 24-hour rate from an obscene $48 to a merely irritating $30. There's essentially no choice in this city.

Your irritation will quickly dissipate, however, with the huge, FREE, buffet breakfast overlooking the city, and the cozy, FREE, nightly 2-hour "Happy Hour." Yes - free well drinks, wine, beer and snacks.

There are ice and filtered water machines on every floor; a free business center with computers and printer; a library; a FREE, first-rate health club (not two treadmills and a mat); and a real plus - a free self-serve washer and dryer. And of course, free internet throughout the hotel, including BOTH Wi-Fi, and a T1 ethernet connection in every room.

Basically, everything you could want is here - and if it isn't, the hotel staff will get it for you, quickly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reispr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Can't say enough about this fabulous hotel. My three sisters and I surprised our brother with a trip to SF for his 50th birthday. We all felt as though we'd hit the jackpot with this venue. The staff treated us like we were family. They were endlessly patient, kind and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean, roomy and comfortable. Great views of the city. Location was nearby lots of things to do and see. The parking is $30 per day, but you don't need a car if you say here. There's an arrangement with a private health club, guests can use the club for free. There is a great rooftop restaurant and bar. They offer FREE happy hour daily from 4-7pm. they offer a complimentary, delicious breakfast buffet. All surrounded by spectacular views of San Francisco. This is my new favorite hotel! Can't imagine staying anywhere else in San Francisco.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms on the ninth floor- loved both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank augustamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is a great value! The staff were great, very helpful. Did I mention location? This hotel is in a great location, close to union square. There is a little Italian resturant, mom and pop place, on the corner that had incredible food, wish I could remeber the name.

The room was not fancy and a bit dated but it was clean and comfortable. I intend on staying here again.

Spend some time looking over the Marine historical items, really interesting.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quiter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $255 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located steps from Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing