We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great SF experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #16 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great SF experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this hotel for a 3 night stay and were holding our breath as we have had some very marginal hotels in SF. I would say that this hotel far exceeded expectations. Not only are the rooms really good (for an older property) but the staff service was absolutely superior. This hotel is a real 'find' and the best value you could imagine in the City. Great restaurants nearby is a plus.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back. Like all urban hotels some noise is likely on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    224
    43
    7
    6
See reviews for
149
243
29
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well situated, clean and comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff.
Great restaurant, superb breakfast fantastic happy hour and amazing history.
If I revisit San Francisco this will be my first choice hotel, it's unique and not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StockportBreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights after being recommended by a family member who is also a member of the club.Quite an historic place with lots of memorabilla in the foyers which makes it quite interesting.the staff were courteous and helpful.Room was comfortable and clean and the location is good.Breakfast was plentiful with very attentive waiters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank consilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacto, ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I spent Fri. night, July 26 at this hotel.
What a wonderful surprise! Comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price 2 blocks from Union Square. I am not a member so I could not take advantage of the reduced rate for veterans. I will have that proof with me the next time I visit. Free breakfast and an excellent steakhouse on the 12th floor add to the satisfying experience. Friendly and attentive staff were very helpful. Great place to stay if you have tickets to a show in their theater venue (we did).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay in this historic hotel. We were greeted by very friendly and professional staff that were very accommodating and helpful. The rooms we had were very stylish and very clean. Breakfast is served in the restaurant which gives splendid views on the city centre. As the hotel is situated just off Union Square in the heart of town, we had easy access to public transport, restaurants and shops. Chinatown is just around the corner and a must to explore. I can but recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Marines Memorial Club for three nights. We've been members for a few years, so have been here a number of times. It's a great place to stay at a very reasonable price right in the heart of the city. The staff are all friendly, helpful and attentive. We have experienced several different room types, from suites, regular rooms and deluxe rooms; there are a number of different room configurations. My favorite is a room we had on the eighth floor. It was small, but cozy with a bathroom which featured a window you could open in the shower with a view of the city. Imagine taking a shower while looking out over San Francisco; very cool. I also really like the two guest laundry rooms, which each feature a front loading washer and dryer and are free! My only complaint is that the free breakfast buffet really isn't very good, which featured watery oatmeal, stale croissants and pastries, and an egg and meat selection; never any bacon :( I would also suggest skipping dinner at the Leatherneck Restaurant. While it has great views, the food is mediocre. I had a filet mignon, which was cooked medium, rather than the medium rare I ordered, and the side dishes were uninspired. We also had to listen to a table of very, very drunk customers who had obviously taken full advantage of the free happy hour, sitting next to the piano being loud and disruptive, as well as the lady sitting at the table next to ours, who insisted on singing along with the piano player while eating her dinner.

Despite what another reviewer recently posted, parking is NOT free at the Olympic Club garage a few doors down, which provides parking for the Marine Memorial Club. It is $30.00 a day.

If you are eligible for membership, give this place a try!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MD_Uniqueid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TA. Your support of the club and endorsement of the hotel is very much appreciated. We hope to earn your support of our F&B operations as we continue to improve that service. Respectfully, Michael Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Marine's Memorial was one of the hotel choices in for a conference at the Moscone Center. The location is just off Union Square. The staff was great. The rooms were very clean and large enough. The hotel is full of history. It is not a modern hotel. I've been to San Francisco many times and had not heard of the Marine's Memorial. There is a health club on the ground floor of the hotel which is not luxurious, but fine and extremely convenient. The Leatherneck Lounge on the top floor has an amazing view of the city. Unfortunately I tried to walk in without a reservation and they were full.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the club & hotel. I was sorry to learn you were not able to enjoy dinner in the restaurant. We look forward to your future visits. SIncerly, Michael Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,957 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Property: Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located next to Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing