We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Sleep in the Middle of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #12 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

As a member it is still difficult to get a room at the hotel but well worth the time and effort to secure a room. The beds are fantastic and food is worth dressing up for. I travel with my daughter and she hates that there is a dress code for breakfast but it has become somewhat fun to make the effort to meet dress attire with her. The location can not be any better. ! block from the cable cars which take you to all points of the city.

Room Tip: I have stayed a number of times and have not had to make any suggestions to get what I need. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate your support of the club and look for to seeing you and your daughter at breakfast for many years to come. Sincerely, Michael Allen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 769 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding weekend and were blown away by this hotel for the location, amenities, and price. Staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and rooms are ALWAYS clean. There is also and pool and gym, and we used street parking which is free at night and all day Sundays. The breakfast that is included with the room is of very good quality and goes far beyond the typical dry, tasteless muffins and bad coffee contintental breakfasts that I've had at hotels of comparable price. There were plenty of hot and cold selections for vegetarians, and carnivores alike. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants surrounding the hotel, as well as plenty of public transportation right at the door-step, and the train is just a couple blocks away. It was close to City Hall, making it so convenient for our marriage process, and to coordinate and meet with our wedding officant too (If planning to be married in SFO, you may want to check him out in other review he was GREAT - Irv Spivak, Celebrant, Milestones & Memories). Anyway, as Military folk we love coming here, especially with the generous discount they offer and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are comparable in quality and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shnuggumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

An excellent, but older hotel from the a golden age of entertainment. The stars that used to do their shows from there: Bing Crosby, Bob Hope, etc. It has an understated elegance, great service, great location. Its a very special hotel with military artifacts from the beginning of our country throu each war that will humble you.

Room Tip: My room viewed a brick wall but was quiet. I'm sure there are other fantastic rooms with views b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Superb location. Close to shopping, Chinatown, restaurants, theatre and just about everything else. Staff is friendly and helpful. Best room price in San Francisco. Complimentary excellent full breakfast. Happy Hour drinks. Beautiful tributes to our heroes. Has the old San Francisco charm! Very well kept up. Do not hear your neighbors.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street hear the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dconners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great location and hotel staff is very nice. The room was very clean and the views from the restaurant up top are great- you can see the whole city!

Only negative- It can get a little noisy especially if your room faces the alley with dumpsters.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

justin town for a night- by far the best price for 2 hotel rooms during the Chinese New Year Parade. It's a long walk uphill from the parade route so take a cab back if you're with tired people.
the parking garage is 130 paces er- as soon as you check in be sure to get the $29 voucher from the desk otherwise you will pay $42. It DOES include in and out charges which was helpful because I had to drive my daughters to SFO- exactly 25 minutes, so simple- take Sutter (one way) to Van Ness- left on Van Ness- stay in right lane, follow signs to 101South, it's about 10 miles on 101 S to SFO.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momof3frenchhornists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place right in downtown sf. Hotel staff were very courteous and efficient. Hotel was beautiful and rooms very comfortable. Location was great also. If you are retired or active military, don't miss the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karero99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,248 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,860 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $255 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located steps from Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing