We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Cool Your Heels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #16 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here with my two brothers, one of which is in the Coast Guard. So he was able to pull in the military rate. This hotel was really fantastically placed, it was a short walk to many many bars and restaurants.

The hotel is definitely "historic" or some may say dated, but I really think it depends on your age and perception of what this hotel represents. I know that many may have a different term for it, but it is definitely brimming with history so you have to take it for what it is. There are fantastic and large ball rooms on the upper floors with wonderful views of the city, my brother and I snuck up there to check it out and see the sights. It was a wonderful place to have a great conversation as we watched the sun come up :) so great. There is a library and military accoutrements all over, it is really a museum and a feast for the eyes.

The room was great, there was a sink area outside the actual showering and bathing area, which was perfect for us gals that can be putting our face on while someone else showers. The king suite was huge, there was even a conference/board room table in there along with a king size bed, and pull out sofa. We could have invited 17 more people to come stay with us and conducted a meeting in the midst of that haha. It was lovely and so was the service.

If you stay here, please, please, please remember to be respectful because this is a place that pays homage to the armed forces who sacrifice to protect and serve our country. If you are looking for a hotel to come back to after your drink fest and trash the place, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Marines Memorial Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 758 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a King size corner room. Nicely refurbished since last stay 10 years ago. Happy hour is great, breakfast reasonable and location is FIVE STAR. Proud to be a member now.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrmdispatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family spent 5 nights here during a recent trip to San Francisco.( 2 parents plus 2 teens)
This is my second stay here.
The room is spacious and there was a welcome basket of fruit and cookies when we arrived, devoured by our hungry teenagers. The room was spotless and along with the excellent accommodation came a complementary full breakfast buffet served in a room with a beautiful view of the city and a pass for a free nightly happy hour which we got to once. To make it an even better deal there is a beautiful library with current magazines and some history end other books, complementary newspaper and even free laundry facilities with complimentary detergent.
For those with a car, the hotel can arrange discounted parking at a nearby garage. We bought a 3 day Muni pass, good for unlimited cable car, bus and streetcar transportation but also took a nice walk through Chinatown to Northbeach and all the way to Aquatic Park one day, and another day rented bikes and rode across the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito.
The staff of the MArines Memorial Club were also kind and helpful. This place really knows how to extend hospitality to it's guests!

Room Tip: There is a theater here with performances many evenings. If you plan for an early night in ask for a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eileenm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Military rate is great...esp., in SF/Union Station. Restaurant on 10th floor has great view of SF and the food's quite good. Try the Clam Chowder. My 2nd invite to speak at weekly breakfast meeting, Golden Gate Breakfast Club., www.ggbcsf.org. Memberships are available. If I return to SF, wil stay there again. A lot of USMC memorabelia in the lobby and throughout hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have limited view of SF. Rooms above 5th floor offer best view of SF abd Bay area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank survivor70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have stayed here several times and the latest visit didn't disappoint. It's a great place to stay, very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is fantastic! Service is great too.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are brighter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaVaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you are in the military you can get in for only $79 per night...the best value in SF...especially right near Union Square. Free breakfast is fantastic. Can't beat it even if you pay regular rate!

Room Tip: there are a few rooms that is facing another building...not ideal but considering the rate and in SF...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gotarev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Marines Memorial Club and had a great time. My husband is in the RAF so we got a military rate which made a big difference. The room was very tasteful albeit not very big but this is a hotel in a city so rooms are never very big unless you pay a huge amount. We had a King bedded corner room and the on the 9th floor so the views were good. Breakfast was extensive and varied always hot and fresh and they would make anything you requested if you didnt want what was on the buffet. Evening happy hour with free cocktails was a bonus serving great margaritas and other spirits, there was also a pianist playing some evenings, so chilling with nice views over the city after a days sight seeing was a great end to the day. We didn't get chance to have dinner in the restaurant but it did look very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was great for all sightseeing areas and easily accessible. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again. The history and memorabilia displayed was very interesting and made a nice change from a contemporary modern hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,828 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $259 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located steps from Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing